A chequered plate of tartar of tuna and tartar of salmon

Ever since I saw Chef Morimoto make a tuna and a salmon tartar on Iron Chef America I have wanted to re create the dish. I can’t actually remember what he put in the tartars nor do I own massive identical cleavers so I can make the tartar chopping with both hands at the same time. I didn’t have any audience so I thought my usual knife might do the trick!

I got some sushi grade tuna and sushi grade salmon and as I was walking home I stopped at the grocer and got some watermelon, chilli and a pink grapefruit. I used some of the tuna and watermelon for soldiers, you can see them here. I decided to use more of the watermelon for the tuna tartar.

 

The lovely weather made me want really light food and I couldn’t resist a little trip to the garden with my camera before I started cooking. I love this time of the year, so much is growing, there are new discoveries every day and we can already pick a few things to eat!

 

Tiny wild strawberries, the birds eat most of them so it was a treat to find a couple. 04June_WildStrawberry

 

The herb garden is getting more established this year

04June_HerbGarden

 

There are flowers everywhere 04June_Fleur

 

 

Happy after the look around the garden, followed by the dogs I started on my dinner.

 

Tuna and watermelon tartar

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 1

Ingredients

  • 100 gr sushi grade tuna
  • 70 gr watermelon
  • 1 red chilli, de seeded

Chop the tuna fine, cube the watermelon in to the smallest cubes you can make. Chop the chilli fine and save a few slices for garnish.

Mix the chilli, tuna and watermelon.

 

04June_ChoppedTuna

 

I saw a pink grapefruit at the grocers and I thought it would be nice with the salmon.

 

04June_Grapefruit

 

Salmon and pink grapefruit tartar

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 1

Ingredients

  • 100 gr sushi grade salmon
  • 70 gr pink grapefruit

Chop the salmon fine. Fillet the grapefruit and chop the fillets fine.

 

04June_ChoppedSalmon

 

Mix everything and plate up. I plated the tartar in squares, just like Chef Morimoto but I have a distinct memory that his looked a lot neater. Either way I was quite pleased. Baby broad beans were added to the tuna and chive flowers added a mild onion flavour to the salmon tartar.

 

04June_Tartardish1

 

I added soy sauce last minute before serving.

 

04June_Tartardish2

 

I only did this as I was home alone, M isn’t too keen on raw fish so this was a real treat. I ate all of it and it,I had some cheese on stand by but I was so full I didn’t need anything else, a light and healthy dinner that was still filling, my kind of home alone food.

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “A chequered plate of tartar of tuna and tartar of salmon”
  1. trucvert says:

    It’s beautiful! Love that you had ‘cheese on standby’ just in case!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Louise
      Thank you 🙂 The cheese is my utter weakness and I was quite impressed I didn’t touch it! 🙂

  2. wheelie38 says:

    This is a fantastic recipe, I love sushi so this is just up my street, I’ll share on facebook tomorrow in line with my #TimeSavingTuesdays theme!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Richard
      Oh I am so happy you like it! 🙂
      Am so glad you are sharing it and it is so easy to make. If you don’t want tuna and salmon either mix would go with both fish I am sure. 🙂

  3. Loretta says:

    Gosh Petra, you come up with the most unusual and awesome creations. This looks top notch in my books!

Leave a Reply

