Prosciutto and chard wrapped pork with goats cheese and elderflower

There is an amazing amount of elderflowers around  and I can’t find a good place to pick enough to make something substantial such  as cordial or wine. I picked a few flowers and brought them home. I wasn’t sure what to do with them but I had an idea.

 

Elderflowers 14June_Elderflowers

 

I had a pork tenderloin for dinner and I thought it might be nice together with the elderflower. We went to the allotment to get some chard and some kale. I picked fresh bay leaves and fresh herbs in the garden and then I was ready to get cooking.

I started by roasting the chard stems, the kale and some bayleaves and I boiled some new potatoes.

 

14June_Veg

 

Prosciutto and chard wrapped pork with goats cheese and elderflower

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

oven 180C

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 80 gr or 2.8 oz thinly sliced prosciutto
  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 80 gr or 2.8 oz soft goats cheese
  • 2 tbsp chopped herbs, I used chives, parsley and coriander
  • 3 large chard leaves, steamed until just wilted
  • 1 crown of elderflowers
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • salt and pepper

Trim the pork tenderloin and salt and pepper it all around. Brown the outside in a hot frying pan.

Place the prosciutto on cling film and spread the blanched chard on top.

 

14June_Chard

 

Mix the goats cheese with the chopped herbs, the elderflowers, lemon juice and pepper.

 

14June_ChoppedHerbs

 

Spread the goats cheese on top of the chard and wrap the pork tenderloin.

 

14June_WrappedPork

 

Roast the pork in the oven for 25-30 minutes. When cooked let it rest for 10-15 minutes before slicing it. Serve with seared courgette, the boiled potatoes and a rhubarb vinaigrette, you can find the recipe here.

 

14June_CookedPork

 

14June_PorkDinner1

 

The roasted vegetables were nice and crispy. The elderflower flavour was quite subtle but it was great with the pork. I wasn’t sure it would work but it did.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Prosciutto and chard wrapped pork with goats cheese and elderflower”
  1. Looks amazing!😍😍😍😍😍 Please visit my blog 💚💚 http://enjoybypaula.wordpress.com ☀️☀️

  2. tentimestea says:

    How interesting and creative to use elderflower with pork! And I love all the layers around the pork, especially the swiss chard. I do get tired of swiss chard rather quickly, but we grow it anyways because it grows so well….maybe I wouldn’t get so tired of it if I could think of ways to use it as creatively as you!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Prosciutto and Chard Wrapped Pork with Goats Cheese and Elderflower by Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

