Vinadloo(ish) chicken curry with grapefruit raita

I had all the best intentions to make a chicken Vindaloo by the book. All traditionalists please look away, I changed a little here, I added a little there and the base is a Vindaloo chicken curry that I found on the Saveur Magazine site. Their recipe bank is a treasure trove! I made it completely by the book the first time so it felt ok to make a few tweaks this time.

Vindaloo originates from Goa and is a tangy, spicy curry with sweet and sour notes. It is very rich in spices and has a delicate and delicious balance. I looked in the fruit bowl for inspiration and something that would cut through the rich curry and settled for pink grapefuit.

I raided my fridge and added various vegetables and a piece of tofu.

 

One of my best kitchen gadget investments ever was my spice grinder. It grinds dry and wet spices in no time and it is perfect when you want to make a curry.

 

Vinadloo(ish) chicken curry 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 40 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 8 chicken thighs, skinless, I had boned ones but you can of course use boned

For the spice paste 

For toasting

  • 1 tbsp black peppercorns
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tbsp mustard seeds
  • 2 tbsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 5 cloves

More paste ingredients 

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup sweet pepper
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 2 tsp molasses
  • 1 whole garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 large piece of ginger, peeled and minced
  • 5 red chillies

For the curry

  • 4 firm potatoes
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 7 button mushrooms
  • 1 onion
  • 1 large garlic
  • 2 tbsp oil for cooking
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of water
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup citrus vinegar
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup dal lentils
  • salt to taste

Toast the spices in a dry pan.

 

22June_Spices

 

Grind them fine and mix with the remaining spices, vinegar, garlic and ginger.

 

22June_CurryPaste

 

The paste was supposed to rest for a few hours for the flavours to settle but I didn’t quite have the time. My planning was a bit off and to be honest I was quite hungry as well. I massaged the curry paste in to the chicken thighs and set it aside whilst cutting the vegetables. Next time with some pre planning I will leave the chicken marinating over night as I am sure it will bring out the flavours even more.

 

Cut the onion fine, slice the celery, cube the carrot fine and quarter the potatoes and the mushrooms, 7 was all I had. Cut the tofu in to chunky cubes. Pan fry the onions until soft, for 10-20 minutes. Add the celery, carrot, potatoes and chicken with all of the remaining paste. Fry for a few minutes and add the water. Let simmer for 20 minutes, then add the mushrooms, the lentils, tofu and the vinegar, taste with salt and let simmer for an additional 10 minutes.

 

Whilst the curry was cooking I did the grapefuit raita. I am not sure if that is the correct name for it as raita is usually yoghurt with a vegetable such as cucumber and various herbs but I wasn’t sure what else to call it.

 

Pink grapefuit raita 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 pink grapefruit
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of low fat yoghurt

Whisk the yoghurt. Peel the grapefruit with a knife and cut the segments in to pieces. Squeeze out the grapefuit juice and add to the yoghurt and whisk until it is mixed.

 

22June_PinkGrapefruit

 

Add the pink grapefruit pieces to the yoghurt and serve with the curry and rice.

 

22June_CurryDish

 

By adding more molasses and the fruity vinegar the curry is a bit sweeter but it still has the heat from the chillies and the vinegar makes it fruity and tangy. I love the mix of slices and how they do their magic whilst being cooked. What is your favourite curry?

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Vinadloo(ish) chicken curry with grapefruit raita”
  1. Loretta says:

    Oh you beat me to it Petra……I was going to feature Vindaloo curry too – I am Goan, (my parents were born and grew up in Goa), and that should have been my first post :)). I can’t think of cooking that in this heat though, but yours looks just wonderful. I always love the spin you put in your dishes too like the grapefruit raita. Very well done.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Oh I can’t wait to see your Vindaloo when you make it! I honestly can’t make it as hot as the recipe says but less chilli is still ok!
      Am glad you like it, the grapefruit cut through the spices nicely and added a sour, citrussy note 🙂 x

  2. This looks amazing! I don’t think I’ve ever had Vindaloo before. I just love the boneless thighs and am sure this is absolutely delicious Petra.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      It is easy to make but it just takes quite a few spices and a spice grinder will make life a lot easier! The curry is well worth making with a great balance of flavours! 🙂

  3. Sudipti says:

    yum! Looks great!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Sudipti
      Thank you for stopping by and I am glad you like it 🙂 It would be very easy to make this a vegetarian curry!

Leave a Reply

