Lunch at Al Arez with the lovely Steffi from Ginger and Bread

I know I say this a lot but since I started my blog I have meet so many lovely fellow bloggers. When the very talented Steffi from Ginger and Bread reached out to meet up I was really excited. Steffi bakes wonderful cakes and breads as well as food and she has meet Nigel Slater himself! If you didn’t see the meeting on the BBC you can find it on their iPlayer or on the website!

 

As foodies we had to have a foodie destination and decided on Edgeware  Road, Middle Eastern territory in London. Edgware road is long and filled with Middle Eastern food shops and restaurants. We walked along the road and stopped when we felt like it and walked around the food shops seeing what we actually knew what it was.

 

After a while we came across a long market. I am not sure what the name of the road was but there was a lot of goods for sale and quite a few food stalls.

 

Olives 30June_OliveStall

Some stuffed with chilli 30June_StuffedOlives

 

Lots of fruit and veg30June_Veg

Proud stall owners selling the most amazing looking watermelons.

30June_ShopHolder

Fresh dates 30June_FreshDates

I found this vegetable, I am not sure what it is, if you know let me know. I bought one and steamed it but it was bitter and I have to admit I didn’t like it. 30June_BitterVeg

 

All of the shops have the most wonderful looking baklava

30June_GreenBaklava

30June_NutBaklava

 

After quite a lot of walking and talking it was time for lunch. We have a similar attitude to food and settled on a Lebanese restaurant called Al Arez. It was the hottest day on record in the UK and we got a table outside in a nice breeze . With our foodie outlook on life we decided to go for a few dishes to share, this was no time for food envy!

After some deliberation we settled on a fattoush salad. It was fresh and lovely, my picture didn’t do it justice.

 

30June_Salad

 

The second dish is one of my favourite dishes, chicken shawarma, puree chickepea and tahini with slices of chicken shawarma.

 

30JUne_ChickenShwarma

 

The last dish was a dish we just couldn’t resists, stuffed baby aubergines, the dish was as tasty as beautiful.

 

30June_StuffedAubergine

 

It was such a lovely afternoon. I found out more about Steffi and we had so much to talk about and in common we agreed that we have to do it again and soon!

 

 

 

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Lunch at Al Arez with the lovely Steffi from Ginger and Bread”
  1. heenie says:

    That vegetable you didn’t like is bitter gourd. We call it ” karayla” in Pakistan. It is a bit tricky to handle. Scrape the outer skin, slit to remove pits, cut into thin slices crosswise and deep fry till golden and crispy. It is cooked with meat and minced meat in our cuisine with lots of sliced onion. Keep it dry as water will make it even more bitter.

    • petra08 says:

      Ah I see! It was bitter for sure I have to say! I steamed it and found it quite inedible! I might like it better deep fried and I didn’t know that about water but will keep that in mind! Thank you so much 🙂

  2. C Steen says:

    The crinkly bitter vegetable you didn’t like is bitter melon; it’s an acquired taste, but supposed to be very good for you nutritionally speaking.

    • petra08 says:

      I have never seen the vegetable before, shame it is bitter as it is so pretty! At least I tasted it, might stick with kale for super food! Thank you for letting me know and responding! 🙂

  3. Where was my invite???? It all looks fab x

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Elaine
      Next time for sure! It is always nice to have plenty of time with fellow foodies! No one thinks it strange that you have all kinds of ideas of things to cook, how to cook it and of course taking pictures before eating! ha ha
      Let’s organise to meet up, that would be so much fun! 🙂 x

  4. Good location choice. I used to live a stones throw away so was always heading to ‘Green Valley’ for my ME groceries. Check it out next time you visit. It is next to the Jewish synagog. Bitter melon is so good for you but as the names hints it is melon. In India it is known as karela. I tend to slice it very thinly and then mix it in a pinch of turmeric and a little salt and then gently fry until the skin darkens. Probably the frying destroys all the good qualities but hey it tastes rather lovely that way. It is often served at the beginning of a meal with a little rice and dal. Another place to visit which is worth seeking out on the Edgware Road is the only Burmese restaurant in London called ‘Mandalay’ run by the lovely Dwight and Gary who originally came from Burma. It’s almost up in Maida Vale but was one of my fav’s in that hood. x

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Tori
      Thank you for all the information! You are a treasure 🙂
      I just steamed the bitter melon and oh was it bitter! I will try it your way next time I see it and give it another go!
      I will remember Mandalay for next time for sure, perhaps we should have a blogger dinner there! 🙂 x

  5. Ginger says:

    OMG, we should have taken you all along! It would have been great to have your input 🙂 What a wonderful afternoon it was, Petra, I can’t thank you enough for suggesting it!
    And as for the food … amazing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] own trip. And guess what, it was just as great as I had imagined it to be – just head over to Petra‘s to check out her beautiful […]



Leave a Reply

