Flourless chocolate cake with lavender infused cream

Ever since I discovered this recipe I have wondered how something so naughty can taste so light and delicious. I found this recipe when I was looking for a cake without the dreaded flour! Flour just goes everywhere and I always make a mess so a flour less cake seemed to be just my thing. It was so many years ago since I found the recipe it is on a faded piece of paper and it was time to write the recipe down here with any apologies to whom this recipe belongs, I just want to share it as it is too good to be just keep to myself.

 

This cake all starts with the quality of the chocolate. The original recipe calls for dark chocolate but I prefer milk chocolate and Varlhornas Jivara with 40% cocoa is just perfect.

 

04July_Varlhorna

 

 

04July_Chocolate

 

 

Flour less chocolate cake 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 45 minutes 

oven 170C/325F

serves 10

Ingredients

  • 250 gr/9 oz Varlhorna Jivara chocolate
  • 225 gr/8 oz slightly salted butter
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup demerara sugar (unrefined cane sugar) + extra for sprinkling
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 vanilla pod

Melt the chocolate and the butter in a bowl on top of hot water in a pan. I love the smell of melting chocolate and butter and I can never resist sticking a spoon in to have a taste, there is something so naughty about it.

 

04July_ChocolateButter

 

Butter a cake dish and sprinkle with sugar.

Crack the eggs in a bowl and whisk them with sugar. Split the vanilla pod and scrape the seeds. Add to the beaten eggs with the cocoa powder. Whisk in the chocolate and butter mixture with the eggs. Pour the cake mixture in to the cake dish and wrap tin foil around the bottom of the dish and the sides. Place it in a deep pan in the oven and pour boiling water in to the deep pan for a bain marie.

 

The cake is ready when it is just set. It has an almost fudgy consistency and it melts in your mouth.

Whilst the cake is cooking gently heat cream with a sprig of lavender in. lavender is a lovely but strong flavour. Don’t let the cream boil just let it get warm, keep a lid on and let it stand for about 20 minutes. The cream will get a hint of lavender and it goes well with the chocolate.

 

04July_Cake1

 

04July_Cake2

 

I love this cake but it is so naughty I only make it on special occasions and this time I was lucky and had lot of friends over to share it with.

 

I am bringing this cake to Angie’s Fiesta Friday. This week we are having a quiet party, chilling out, taking the time to enjoy being and each other, what are we without friends? If you have cooked come and join us and if you haven’t come and just hang out, get inspired and enjoy being!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
18 Responses to “Flourless chocolate cake with lavender infused cream”
  1. Chocolate and lavender – perfect pairing as always. Love to use lavender from my garden and I have a year round supply with a dozen plants. This is an herb that dries good and the scent and flavor is still there. Perfect summer dessert 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju
      It is a lovely combination! I never tried it before but will do it again! The lavender is so beautiful at this time of the year I will take your advice and dry some for the winter! 🙂 I hope you have a lovely weekend!

  2. A delicious combination, Petra. That cake is beautiful 🙂

  3. polianthus says:

    looks too beautiful to eat Petra – but sounds as though it tastes wonderful too

  4. Friends are everything xxx

  5. FireBonnet says:

    I just planted a lavender bush and two flower buds are breaking through… now I know what to do with them! This sounds amazing and very doable in my tiny patchwork kitchen… Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Meghan
      Thank you for stopping by and I am glad you like it. I hope you make this cake and the cream, it is very easy and you are rewarded with lots of naughty goodness! 🙂

  6. hannahysabel says:

    Looks beautiful and sounds delicious!

  7. Corina says:

    It sounds like a great chocolate cake and looks so pretty too.

  8. I’ve never tried chocolate and lavender before, but that sounds AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

