A tribute to Selma – beetroot and goats cheese salad

I know I have said it before but it can’t be said enough, since I started blogging I have discovered a whole community of great friends, as food obsessed as myself! I love to read other blogs to get new ideas, drool over the recipes and images of delicious food and just get inspired.

One of the blogs I read on a regular basis is Selma’s Table. I constantly collect recipes and one of the ones I just love the sound of is Selma’s beetroot and goats cheese salad, you can find the recipe here. I got the sad news that Selma passed away and this is a tribute blog. We connected through our blogs and she had a lovely talent for writing about life and the food in it and we have lost a great voice. Please have a look around her blog and I hope it will inspire you as much as it has me!

 

It is beetroot season and I thought what would be better than to make Selma’s Mixed roasted beets with goats cheese, honey and mint.

 

We picked mixed beetroots from the allotment. We had dark ones and a stripy looking heritage kind.

 

11July_DarkBeetroot

 

11July_StripyBeetroot

 

I didn’t use thyme but added chilli flakes instead when roasting the beets and I added the honey when the beets were roasted.

 

18July_BeetsForRoasting

 

Besides this I followed Selma’s recipe and the beets are lovely when roasted slightly caramelised.

 

18July_RoastedBeets

 

I mixed the still warm beets with the goats cheese, honey and chopped mint. Last I squeezed over some lemon juice and served.

 

18July_BeetrootSalad1

 

18July_BeetrootSalad2

 

This recipe caught my eye because I don’t use mint a lot when cooking and the sound of cheese, beets and mint sounded delicious. I have done the salad twice since and I just love it. I cooked it both times for friends and we had a fight for the last bits (but guests first of course) so I might make myself a bowl just for me! Thank you Selma, this is just so good. My heart goes out to her family, we have lost a very talented writer, photographer and cook who so generously shared her life on her lovely blog.

 

I am bringing this to a special Fiesta Friday, a tribute to Selma, also linked through Angie, The Novice Gardener, Elaine, Foodbod, Jhuls, The Not So Creative Cook and Sue, Burgerbird.

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “A tribute to Selma – beetroot and goats cheese salad”
  1. Really such a lovely tribute Petra and a gorgeous salad. I love beets and goat cheese.

  2. Mar says:

    I had the honour of tasting this special beetroot-salad. A lovely tribute, cooked with love and passion like al the gorgeous food Petra cooks.

  3. Loretta says:

    How gorgeous Petra, love those colors, and what’s better than beetroot and goats cheese. Selma would have loved this for sure. Thanks for coming together for this tribute.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! It is a lovely combination and even better with the mint! I would never have thought of it and now I can’t stop making it. 🙂 x

  4. Thank you for this lovely post and for joining the tribute, Petra, I’ve got this recipe saved in my list of Selma’s recipes to make too 🙂

  5. skd says:

    A very nice tribute Petra. This is a beautiful recipe. Delicious and vibrant. A reflection of Selma’s blog.

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you so much 🙂 I am glad you like it. I am just sorry I did not make this sooner, it is so delicious. 🙂

  6. This is a lovely tribute Petra! I don’t often use mint in my cooking either but should really try it. Like you, I am sure I will be doing it more often. This beet salad looks delicious! I just love the beautiful beet colors and I am a weakling for goat cheese.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you. The salad is delicious and the mint is a genious additiion! It will be a staple on the menu for sure! I love cheese and goast cheese is just delicious, even better with some beets! 🙂 x

  7. Sue says:

    What beautiful colors we have here, Selma would have been swooning. And I love this salad too, I always like to see what different people do with beets in a salad because it seems every restaurant has a “beet salad” and often they are so pedestrian and repetitive. Not this one. Beautiful! Thank you also for joining the tribute, Petra.

  8. Circahappy says:

    This salad looks & sounds so fantastic, Petra. The combination just works together wonderfully 🙂
    Thank you so much for sharing Selma’s recipe; therefore, carrying on her love of food. I am surely going to make this salad. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Pang
      Thank you, I am so glad you like it!
      The flavours are like Selma, warm, vibrant and a wonderful combination. I am sure you will love this salad as much as I do! 🙂

  9. Angie says:

    Oh this does sound really delicious, Petra. I love the stripy beets as I know Selma would have, too. She did like finding new vegetables or ingredients to cook with, didn’t she? She was always open to new things AND people! How we all miss her! XOXO

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Thank you for your always lovely comments 🙂
      I was so upset to hear about Selma, her blog was an amazing glimpse in to her life! The stripy beets are an heritage kind I just couldn’t resist buying, they are a little sweeter than the regular beets and delicious!
      Selma will be so missed but always be with us! xxx

  10. The salad looks so pretty – I have had something similar and it was delicious and can imagine this is too. I’ve had those striped beetroot in my vegbox and they are great, both pretty and tasty. A lovely choice as tribute to Selma and a lovely post, too.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Caroline
      Thank you!
      I love the stripy beets! They are delicious grated or thinly sliced raw as well! The added mint was a lovely surprise and I just wish I had done the recipe sooner! 🙂

Leave a Reply

