A day in Margate and lunch at Yama’s Thai

Since moving to Kent I have to admit we haven’t had a proper look around in other towns and nice places. This summer I want to change that and we decided on a day out in what is called “the most up and coming town in Kent”, Margate. We picked a lovely day, it was warm and nice and we started with a stroll on the beach.

 

06July_BeachSigns

 

The tide was out and it looked like the boats had been stranded as there is a harbour but it makes perfect sense at high tide.

 

06July_Beach

 

There is a lot to see and do in Margate and the harbour with the old wall is a great place to breathe in the sea air and get a good look at the town. Margate, like so many of the Kent coastal towns is very old and it has been a seaside destination for at least two hundred and fifty years. Parts of it looks tired and needs a good facelift but the transformation has begun and Sands Hotel overlooking the harbour and the beach is just gorgeous. We couldn’t resist popping in to the icecream shop they have at the front and take a few moments and just enjoy the scenery.

 

06July_Icecream

 

Rusty details on the harbour wall.

06July_RustyNail

 

06July_MargatePier

 

06July_Bench

 

Margate’s old town is great to have a stroll through. There are plenty of cafes and quirky shops. It isn’t very big but it is the nicest part.

 

06July_TownHall

 

06July_MargateSign

 

One of the things I wanted to do was to go to the Turner contemporary but I hadn’t done my research and it was closed that day. This just means that I have to come back!

 

The high street isn’t great I have to admit but I wasn’t on a shopping trip and we strolled up and decided to have lunch in a small cafe I had read about beforehand, Yama’s Thai Eatery. As the name states they do Thai food but they also serve English food and as we enjoyed our meal, Thai green curry and phad thai, the people next to us was enjoying their full English, all day, breakfast.

The cafe is small but everything is cooked fresh.

 

Fish cakes 06July_FishCakes

 

Green Curry with tofu06July_ThaiGreenCurry

 

Pad Thai 06July_PhadThai

 

The food was very fresh, mixed with a great selection of vegetables and I really wish we had something similar closer to home. It is cheap and great value, I would recommend a visit here if you are in the mood for Thai food, the Pad Thai in particular was delicious.

 

Margate is arty and quirky, there are areas that are less desirable but I can see how it is changing so keep an eye on this town, it is worth a visit if you are nearby!

Comments
10 Responses to “A day in Margate and lunch at Yama’s Thai”
  1. It sounds like an absolutely beautiful place. Hopefully you get to go again when the Turner contemporary is open. 🙂

  2. J Seaton says:

    I didn’t realize you lived in Kent. I will have to get some restaurant suggestions from you before visiting my mother-in-law out there. She was in Canterbury and is in Wye now.

  3. Loretta says:

    What a beautiful day by the sea. My husband used to live in Kent, this was years and years ago. I have some friends that I visit in Kent too every time I come to England, they always take me to some beautiful gardens around there. It looks like you didn’t do too badly on the food there too eh? 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      oh if you ever some to Kent please let me know! It is a very foodie place with lots of producers and of course, great seafood!
      It is very green here and so pretty, very different from London for sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

