Dini’s divine chicken teriyaki sushi burger

Sometimes, well if I am honest quite often, I find recipes that I save and think “I have to make this”. I can almost taste the flavours when I read the recipe. This means that I have a lot of saved recpies for that one day. Well, it is time for that one day to arrive and one recipe that I knew I had to make was Dini’s The Flavour Bender Teriyaki Sushi burger.

Dini is an amazing cook and the food photography is mouthwatering. You can see her recipe here.  I was a bit in a hurry and didn’t have the time to set up the food for proper photos, I will make this again and take my time for the photos. The good news is that it was so delicious I knew I had to share this straight away, Dini, this is brilliant!

I used chicken thighs instead of beef and I did some tiny modifications to the original recipe. I used chilli flakes instead of cayenne pepper and I discovered that all of my nouri shhets got stuck together so none of those! Besides that, follow the recipe to a tee, it is worth it!

 

Sushi rice is just about the only rice that ever turns out like it should. No matter how I try and what advice I get my rice is never fluff! Sushi rice turns out pretty perfect every time, go figure!

 

Once cooked I added the black sesame seeds.

23July_SushiRice

 

The rice was still hot, I should have waited as I burned my hands, silly me, but I managed to get the “buns” done and it was so easy! I wondered why I hadn’t done this before!

 

Shaped sushi buns

23_July_ShapedBuns

 

 

Shape them gently not to break or press thre rice too hard. Heat oil in a pan and pan fry them on each side. I wated a bit of crust and fried them slightly longer than Dini and it was oh so delicious. I added a dollop of wasabi mayo on each bun.

 

23_July_MayoOnBun

 

Last I added the teriyaki chicken thigh. The sauce was sweet, hot, salty and delicious. I sliced avocado and picked some lettuce in the garden and the sushi burgers were done.

 

23July_SushiChickenBurger

 

I knew when I saw the recipe that I would like this but I was wrong. I LOVED it! I was in a bit of a hurry as a couple of friends came by, just for a drink. The sushi rice was still cooking and I wanted to surprise them and this is why I burnt my hands and had to take the pics in a bit of a hurry. I finally brought them out of the kitchen, sat down, and had a drink with them, about 35 minutes later! What can I say? Who wants friends to go home?! Dini, a toast to you for a brilliant recipe!

 

I love the flavours and I am bringing it to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. I have been so busy I have even missed this! She has two fabulous co hosts, Effie, Food Daydreaming who brought us a delicious sounding potato salad and the always inspirational Steffi, Ginger & Bread.

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
23 Responses to “Dini’s divine chicken teriyaki sushi burger”
  1. Loretta says:

    Just lovely Petra, you did a great job with Dini’s recipe. The flavors are oozing and who would have thought a sushi burger? Love it.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! It was one of those recipes I just knew would be delicious and it was even more so than I thought! And easier to make than I thought as well, a clear bonus and I will make it again! 🙂 x

  2. What a delicious recipe. I know I would love it too. It looks wonderful.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne

      I am sure you would love it! It was so full of flavour. I was thinking I will try it with salmon next time! 🙂

  3. Lina says:

    This sure does look perfectly divine:)

  4. Lili says:

    All I can say is Yum!!! 🙂

  5. Hilda says:

    I can see why you were tempted to make this. It looks fabulous!

  6. J Seaton says:

    Such a cool idea – they look amazing!

  7. This looks great, a fine choice to start with – I hope you get through some of you list! Thanks so much for sharing with FF#84

    • petra08 says:

      hi Effie
      Am so glad you like it! The list is very long so will se but at least I got started! Happy FF and thank you for co hosting! 🙂

  8. Wow, Petra! Mouthwatering. I am always substituting chicken thighs for everything else. I also have a ridiculous list of other bloggers recipes that I have to try! I can see how this dish made it to the top of your list. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Josette
      It is hard to know where to start isn’t it?! There is just so much delicious food! This was a hit, I even got the neighbours over just to have taste as I wanted to share! ha ha
      I completely agree with you re the chicken thighs! My favourite part of the chicken! Glad you like it. Have a great week ahead! 🙂

  9. This looks absolutely delicious.

  10. This is INCREDIBLE petra!!! I am so honoured that you made this! 😀 I would have GLADLY eaten one of these! They look absolutely amazing! I love that you used chicken and added avacado! Beautiful 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Dini
      Oh I am so glad you like it! The pictures are no where near as good as yours and that was a shame but what a recipe! Just amazing, the flavours were so lovely, it is a keeper! 🙂

  11. Corina says:

    I love the idea of using sushi rice to make the burger buns – It looks fantastic! This is definitely something I want to try too.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      Thank you, am glad you like it! It was easier to make than I tought and that little crunch to the sushi rice was delicious! I hope you try it 🙂
      Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

