Cavolo nero and ricotta ravioli with crispy sage

The other day I had a lovely invite in my inbox. It was a a pasta masterclass with the very talented chef Gennaro Contaldo. I had a great time but more about that in another blog. For the first time I have to admit I actually got truly enthusiastic about pasta. As a perfect gift to a foodie we got a goodie bag with fresh pasta dough and I was not going to let it go to waste.

I have always thought you have to have a pasta machine to make the perfect pasta but one day I went on a pasta making course and I realised that all you need is strong arms and a good rolling pin. It is quite theraputic to roll the dough, I will make it myself next time.

In order to get over my dislike of flour I poured myself a glass of wine and got started.

 

10Sept_pastaDough

 

I rolled the dough until it was almost see through, making sure the whole dough was just as thin.

 

10Sept_RolledDough

 

Once done I started to cut out the ravioli shapes. I did a few as a starter and cut the rest of the dough s tagliatelle. Once the pasta was cut I didn’t quite know what to do with the tagliatelle so I hung it on one of the oven doors to dry and it worked a treat.

 

10Sept_Tagliatelle

 

I was aiming to make a traditional ravioli with ricotta and spinach but in the end I picked some cavolo nero instead from the allotment. Home grown veg always tastes better.
Cavolo nero and ricotta ravioli

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 5 minutes 

serves 2 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • 8 stalks of cavolo nero
  • fresh pasta dough rolled thin
  • flour
  • a good handful of sage
  • 2 good tbsp ricotta cheese
  • cracked black pepper
  • butter
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • parmesan cheese
  • whisked egg mixed with a little water
  • grated parmesan cheese

Pick the sage leaves off the stalks. Cut the cavolo nero fine and steam for five minutes. Rinse in cold water to stop the cooking process and squeeze out as much water as you can and set aside.

Mix the cavolo nero with the ricotta cheese and add cracked black pepper. As much as you like, I like a bit of a peppery bite.

Cut out the ravioli shapes and place about half a teaspoon on each shape.

 

10Sept_Ravioli

 

If you have larger ravioli add more filling. Brush the edges with the egg and water mixture and add the top of the ravioli. Squeeze out any air that there might be inside to avoid them exploding whilst cooking.

Heat butter and olive oil in a pan, add a little bit more butter than you would normally use, the reward you get in flavour is well worth it! Add the sage leaves to the butter.

 

10Sept_SageButter

 

Place the ravioli in boiling water, they were so thin they only took about a minute.

 

I added some more cavolo nero and grated parmesan and added all of the sage infused butter and olive oil before serving.

 

10Sept_RavioliDish

 

My neighbours dropped off some cherry tomatoes as they had a small glut and were off on holiday. I thought with my new found love of pasta that they would be great for a pasta pommodoro, well it wasn’t pommodoro tomatoes but it still tasted good. I had a little bit of left over cavolo nero from  the the ravioli that I also used and it added a nice texture and flavour.

 

Pasta with cherry tomatoes and cavolo nero

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 5 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • about 200 gr or about 7 oz fresh pasta
  • about 3 dl or 1.5 cup of cherry/pommodor0 tomatoes
  • 1 red chilli
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • a good handful of basil leaves
  • butter
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • pasta water
  • a small handful of cavolo nero
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • grated parmesan cheese to taste

Cut the tomatoes in half and slice the chilli and garlic. Melt the butter in olive oil in a pan. Add the tomatoes, chilli and garlic. Let simmer for a few minutes.

Add the pasta to boiling water and cook until done but still al dente.

Add some pasta cooking water to the tomatoes, butter and olive oil and then the pasta. Add a knob more butter and grated parmesan cheese. It is worth buying a nice piece of parmesan. Mix everything and let it come together and the pasta “grab” the sauce. I had a little of the cooked cavolo nero left over and added this as well to the dish and what a perfect way to use up the glut of tomatoes.

 

10Sept_PastaPommodori2

 

10Sept_PastaPommodori

 

It was a true Italian pasta dinner, I used the ravioli as a starter and I will make pasta more often and I will make my own pasta more often, it is just so delicious!

 

I am bringing a big plate of of the ravioli pasta to the always lovely Fiesta Friday. Hosted by the talented Angie, The Nove Gardener and co hosted by Kalia, GF Life 24/7 who blogs the most delicious gluten free recipes, showing that there are no limits! The other co host this week is Jenny, Dragonfly Home Recipes.  Jenny has some amazingly fresh and light recipes mixed with delicious baking!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Cavolo nero and ricotta ravioli with crispy sage”
  1. Love this Petra!!! Love Love Love!!! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Amy
      Thank you so much 🙂 Am glad you like it. I got all the ingredients to make my own pasta dough this weekend and think I will make the ravioli again! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend

  2. Jenny says:

    This is very impressive! Your ravioli and your bowl of pasta with cherry tomatoes both look incredible! I always enjoy your posts, because your recipes are often unique and beautiful. Making pasta from scratch is something I hope to someday try, and this post is helping to inspire me. 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday!

  3. Your dishes are always so beautiful, Petra! This sounds completely delicious 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Natalie
      Thank you so much 🙂 I will make more ravioli tomorrow actually! We liked it so much I invited some friends to share it with 🙂

  4. I use to have a pasta machine but decided it was easier and better for me to buy my own pasta. Had to look up what cavolo nero was; can’t like something if I don’t know what it is. A loose-leafed cabbage related to kale? Sure, I bet this was delicious Petra 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju
      Thank you!
      Cavolo nero is like kale but slightly tougher, so it needs a couple of more minutes cooking but it also has slightly more flavour and adds a very nice texture.
      I have only used a pasta making machine once before, I once went to another pasta making class and ended up juts using the rolling pin and decided to stick with it! It is quite therapeutic I have to admit 🙂

  5. Ginger says:

    They look amazing! We make ravioli quite regularly, usually filled with spinach and ricotta. The kale seems such an interesting alternative – it’s on my to-do list already!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Steffi
      Oh I can’t wait to see what you will make! Am glad you like it, the sage wasn’t crispy in the pasta class but I prefer it like that and it still has tons of that nice sage flavour!
      Have a lovely weekend! 🙂

  6. Kaila says:

    Your pasta came out beautifully, and I love how you did this by hand and without a machine. I can’t wait to see more pasta dishes that you craft up in the future. Adding the sage in the ravioli dish sounds like a great flavor combination. Thanks for sharing at FF, and have a wonderful weekend! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Kalia
      Thank you so much 🙂 I do like rolling out the pasta dough and just hope I can make dough like that myself!
      Sage is wonderful with pasta and especially in butter… I know, naughty but so nice!
      I hope you are having a great weekend and and Happy FF! 🙂

  7. heenie says:

    looks so wonderful.

  8. Fabulous!! I can’t believe you rolled out the pasta dough by hand… Very impressive!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Josette
      I have to admit it was a bit like a work out for my arms! I was just thinking “thinner, thinner”. The dough is so elastic it wasn’t a problem but if I start making a lot of pasta I might re think rolling the dough by hand. 🙂

  9. Good for you, I was salivating over the pictures. Those dishes look good enough to be in a 4 star restaurant.

Leave a Reply

