Harissa roasted chicken and veg

After having made Selma’s very extraordinary roasted chicken, potatoes and chickpeas I got a flavour for harissa. Something I haven’t used enough! When I got a request for a roasted chicken I thought I would cook it whole and give it a nice harissa twist.

 

Harissa roasted chicken 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 1 hr 20 minutes + 30 minutes resting time 

oven 175C or 350F

serves 3-4 

Ingredients

  • 1 whole chicken
  • 2 tbsp harissa paste
  • 2 tbsp hungarian paprika paste
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp olive oil + extra for the vegetables
  • 2 beetroots
  • 1 head of garlic
  • 1/2  butternut squash

Mix the harissa paste, hungarian paprika paste, the chilli flakes and the olive oil and brush the chicken.

Peel the butternut squash, the beetroots and cut the tops of the garlic but keep the skin on. Add olive oil, salt and pepper. Place all of the ingredients in a pan and roast for about an hour and twenty minutes. Check the chicken with a themometer, it should be more than 62C or 144F to be ready but you might prefer it slightly more cooked.

 

06Sept_HarissaChicken

 

I added a few thin slices of butter to make the skin crispy and tasty. I like that I can leave this dish in the oven to roast, filling the house with lovely notes of roasting chicken whilst I get on with other things.

 

06Sept_HarissaRoastedChicken

 

The veg were crispy and slightly caramelized, I served the chicken with a ginger and buttermilk sauce and the harissa added a lovely note to the roasted chicken.

 

 

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Harissa roasted chicken and veg”
  1. I absolutely love harissa and use it as a sandwich spread. The syrian ones were quite good but now they are hard to come by.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Shayne
      I have never seen a Syrian one. I have to admit I have seen recipes but haven’t made the paste myself but should give it a go and will look up Syrian harissa, thanks for the tip! 🙂

  2. Just picked up some harissa while in London the other week and love it! Great recipe here!!

Leave a Reply

