Garlic baked camembert with honey roasted figs

Inspiration to cook comes and goes. Most of the time I love spending time thinking about what to cook next. Sources of inspiration are everywhere but sometimes the will to make even the simplest dishes seems to abandon me. With my mind pre occupied by other things than food, I know it is hard to believe, I decided to minimise my dinner cooking efforts.

I searched my fridge, the fruit basket and the greenhouse and came up with the idea of just using the oven, no pots and pans and no extra dishes. For some reason this seemed to appeal to me.

 

The first thing I did was to roast figs and tomatoes.

 

Roasted figs and tomatoes

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes 

oven 200C or 390F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 figs
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1 tsp runny honey
  • 1 sprig of thyme
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Quater the figs and the tomatoes. Place in an oven roasting tray on non stick paper.

Place the figs on one side and the tomatoes on the other. Sprinkle the tomatoes with the thyme leaves, salt and pepper and give them a light drizzle with extra virgin olive oil.

Add a drizzle of honey over the figs and season with cracked black pepper.

Roast for 15-20 minutes.

 

I had a cammenbert that wasn’t opened and they always taste lovely baked. This one wasn’t quite ripe and it came straight from the fridge so baking it would change it and bring out the flavour.

 

Garlic baked cammenbert

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes or until runny and malted through 

serves 2-4 

Ingredients

  • 1 whole cammenbert
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • cracked black pepper

Place the cammenbert in a snug oven proof dish. cut it with a knife on the top. Peel and slice the garlic in chunky slices and place them in the cut holes in the cammenbert. Crack black pepper on top and bake until the cheese is melted through.

 

The cheese is baked when the cheese is ozing out and the garlic is slightly roasted on top.

 

01Sept_BakedCheese

 

I had cold meat, bread and fruits that I placed on a board with the figs, the tomatoes and a piece of Jarlsberg cheese.

 

01Sept_FingerFood

 

The honey baked figs went very well with the meats.

 

01Sept_BakedFig

 

The tomatoes had a slight sundried taste

01Sept_RoastedTomatoes

 

It was a perfect dinner,  naughty with the cheese but it was oh so nice. Roasting the figs brought out the flavour and gave them a great texture and the honey and black pepper goes so well together. It was truly a lazy cooking dinner for when I wasn’t even in the mood for a takeaway!

 

 

 

 

Comments
15 Responses to “Garlic baked camembert with honey roasted figs”
  1. Sandhya says:

    This looks so good! Aweosme photo too!

  2. Honey and roasted fig?? That’s all I need to hear! That sounds amazing!!!

  3. I love meals like this! Pour me a bit of wine and I am happy happy!

  4. OMG!!!!!!! so much so good!!!!

Leave a Reply

