Mirabelle plum and chilli tart

The other day I came across Mirabelle plums. They are small and they were described as very sweet and I found them irresistible.

 

16Sept_MirabellePlums

 

They were as sweet and juicy as advertised and I ate quite a lot of them. It seemed that M didn’t eat any so I ended up having a few left before I was due to go away. I didn’t want them to go to waste so when invited to my neighbour I decided to surprise them with a tart. The plums were so sweet I decided I needed something to cut through the sweetness and thought chilli would be perfect. I am sure any plums will work, use slightly less of them as the Mirabelle are about half the size of a normal plum.

 

Mirabelle plums and chilli tart

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20-30 minutes 

oven 200C or 390F

serves 6

Ingredients

  • Puff pastry in a rectangluar format
  • 22 Mirabelle plums, cut in half with the stone removed
  • ricotta cheese, quite a thick layer
  • 2-3 tbsp runny honey
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 egg for egg wash

Cut the pastry almost all the way through along the sides, leave about 1/2 – 1 cm or about .3 inches. Brush gently with eggwash around the sides and spread the ricotta cheese on top. Place the plums on top of the ricotta, add the honey and last the chilli before baking until golden.

 

17Sept_PlumTartUnbaked1

 

I did use pre made pastry, cheating I know but I didn’t have the time to stop and make it. I am not an experienced baker so this was a quick and easy option.

 

The tart smelled delicious and we let it cool before serving. The ricotta added richness and there was no need for extra cream, it was great on it’s own.

 

17Sept_BakedPlumTart

 

The chilli cut through the richness and added a nice warmth, it was perfect with the sweetness from the honey and plums and the richness from the ricotta. I will make it again, maybe with figs next time.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Mirabelle plum and chilli tart”
  1. Lina says:

    Really looks too yumm..

  2. Corina says:

    What a beautiful tart! I love how simple it is to make too – there’s no excuse not to bake!

Leave a Reply

