Lightly baked oysters with lime and chilli

After what felt like too much meat lately I wanted something super light. As I almost always do I took a detour past the fishmongers to see what he had. I spotted a couple of lobsters the other day and wondered if I should get some.

He still had lobsters as well as crabs but for the first time since I have been buying my fish from him, he had fresh oysters.

I have never shucked an oyster before in my life but the kind man gave me a lesson. It looked easy enough and I got a couple as a starter. I wasn’t brave enugh to get more just in case, and M is not too keen on them.

I have eaten oysters before and I prefer them au naturel with a little tabasco but I wanted to add a twist to them. The first thing I did was to try to shuck them. It may have looked easy when the fishmonger did them but it wasn’t easy when I tried. No matter how I tried, they just wouldn’t open. I didn’t have an oyster knife but it should be possible with a normal knife, or so I was told. No matter how I tried they stayed shut.

In the end I had to swallow my pride, take the oysters across the street and ask one of my lovely neighbours to give me a hand. I knew he could do it and he had them open in about two seconds, both of them whilst laughing at me when I told him about my attempts! He even gave me an oyster knife! Next time I will give it another go myself.

 

I happily took my oysters back home and decided to smoke them and then very lightly bake them in the oven. I used my smoking gun to add a little smokey flavour but they will be fine without it as well.

 

Lightly baked oysters with chilli and lime 

preparation time 5 minutes (possible extra time to get help opening the oysters) 

cooking time 2 minutes 

oven 180C or 350F

serves 2 as an amuse bouche 

Ingredients

  • 3 oysters
  • 1/4 green chilli, finley sliced
  • 1/4 red chilli, finley sliced
  • zest of 1/2 lime

Bake the oysters in their shell for 2-3 minutes and then add the chilli and lime zest before serving.

 

26Sept_BakedOyster

 

This might have been the easiest and quickets amuse bouche I have ever done. With more oysters they would make a nice starter, I think about 5-6 per person would be nice. The lime and the chilli worked well with the soft oyster and I will get some more and see if I can do it all myself next time.

I doubt that I will ever be an oyster shucking master but I should be able to manage a few and what better than to practice as well as get to eat them. I am not sure M was fully convinced as this was his first oyster but I find them delicious.

 

I decided that I wanted to share the oysters and am bringing them to Throwback Thursday, hosted on the great blog Dad What’s for Dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Lightly baked oysters with lime and chilli”
  1. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🍁xoxo

  2. These look amazing! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Bethany
      Am glad you like the oysters, so easy to make, once you get in to them (!)
      You have a great blog. I am glad I found it and am looking forward to reading more of your recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

