Salmon with scallops, pickle sprats and roasted fig quinoa

Sometimes I know exactley what I want and there is no persuading me any different and sometimes I can’t make up my mind at all. This time I was standing in the fishmongers and I simply couldn’t make my mind up. The man has a patience of an angel and waited for me to decide whilst talking a bit about the different fish as well as the weather.

I knew I wanted fish and in the end I simply got a few different things without any thought of how to make it in to one dish at all. I got some plump scallops with roe, a piece of salmon and some very cute looking little sprats. Sprats are part of the herring family, small and silver coloured. They are sold whole as they are so tiny.

 

Sprats 26Sept_Sprats

 

I bought four of them as I had all the other fish as well. They might be small but they have a lot of taste. I decided to pickle them, something I never done before so I wanted to try it.

 

Before cooking I got some cavolo nero, a kind of kale, from the allotment and I picked up a couple of figs from the veg shop on the way home. The figs are just amazing at the moment and I can’t resist them.

 

Pickled sprats 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes (let them pickle for at least 20 minutes) 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 or more sprats
  • 1 ½ dl or 3/4 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Bring the vinegar, salt and sugar to a boil until the salt and the sugar is dissolved. Place the sprats in a small bowl and pour over the hot liquid. Let stand for at least 20 minutes. Blow torch them just before serving to crisp the skin up slightly.

 

I cooked some quinoa to go with the fish and I roasted figs with honey and plenty of black pepper for a salad.

I grew some cucamelons, they are a mix between cucumber and melon and has a lovely taste and texture. The plant was really big but I have to admit that it didn’t have much fruit at all and this was my entire harvest.

 

23Sept_Cucamelons

 

Quinoa salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 35-40 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup of quinoa
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of vegetable stock or water
  • 2 spring onions
  • 2 honey and black pepper roasted figs
  • 1 green chilli
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 piece of cucumber, seeds removed and cubed
  • 4 cucamelons

For the dressing

  •  olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • a good pinch of sea salt flakes
  • more chilli if needed

Mix quinoa and water or stock and bring to a boil. Let boil for 10-15 minutes and then turn the heat off. Let stand for about 15-20 minutes before serving. Fluff the quinoa and add sliced spring onion, the segments of the fig, the sliced chilli, red and green, the cucumber and the broccoli. Mix everything and add the dressing just before serving. I didn’t measure the dressing, I just added a bit to the salad until I was happy with the taste.

 

26Sept_Quinoa

 

Crispy cavolo nero 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10-13 minutes, or until cispy but not burnt

oven 220C or 430F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • a good handful of cavolo nero or curly kale works just as well
  • about 1 tbsp rapeseed oil
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt

Rinse the kale well and let dry on a kitchen towel. Slice quite fine and place in a small plastic bag. Add the oil, salt and sugar just before cooking and shake the bag well to make sure everything is coated. Add a little more oil if necessary.

Spread the kale out on a large, lined baking tray and bake until it is crispy.

 

Pan fry the salmon, skin side down until crispy and just cooked through. I cooked the scallops with the roe in butter and sliced them.

I placed the crispy cavolo nero on a serving plate and added the fish.

 

26Sept_SeafoodPlate

 

The different flavours came together and it worked with the sweetness of the fig in the quinoa salad. Perhaps the star of the dish was the pickled sprats that were packed with flavour, able to well stand up to the pickling liquid.

 

26Sept_PlatedSeafood

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Salmon with scallops, pickle sprats and roasted fig quinoa”
  1. Roasted fig quinoa??? Yes please!

  2. petra08 says:

    hi Jack
    I am so glad you like it. Quinoa is a favourite and even better with seafood! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Eat Love, we have something that should satisfy anyone’s craving for seafood.  I give you salmon with scallops, pickle sprats, and roasted fig quinoa.  taa daah!!!  You know what?  I would much rather eat this plate of seafood than I would like […]



Leave a Reply

