Hazelnut, sage and feta roasted beetroot with butterbeans

I haven’t had many days lately when I had the time or been in the mood to think about what to cook and to experiment but today I actually felt like it would be a great day. I took a walk around the garden to see what was ripe and to create a dish from there.

 

The black tomatoes are finally ready, they took their time and I picked some for a tomato salad.

 

29Sept_BlackTomatoes

 

The chillies had a bumper crop last year, there are not as many this year but they have a nice heat and are delicious. There will be a few to dry for the winter and I hope it might take me through until next year. The last few times I have bought chillies in the shop they haven’t had much heat.

 

29Sept_Chillies

 

I picked some sage leaves and the last of the beetroots. I looked at the ingredients and decided to cook a vegetarian dish as I couldn’t decide what to eat with it besides butter beans.

 

I started by roasting a carrot for a purée and a garlic to go with the beans.

 

Roasted carrots and garlic

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 35-40 minutes or until the carrots are soft

oven 170C or 340F

serves 1-2

Ingredients

  • 1 large carrot
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Peel the carrot and cut in to quaters. Mix the carrot in olive oil, cumin seeds, salt and pepper.

Cut the top of the head of garlic and add a little olive oil before roasting.

 

I started on the beetroots straight away and boiled until just soft with the skin on.

 

Beetroot with a hazelnut, feta cheese and sage crust

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 35 minutes boiling + 15 minutes roasting in the oven

oven 210C or 410F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sized beetroots
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup hazelnuts
  • 50 gr or 1.7 oz feta cheese
  • 4 small sage leaves
  • 1/2 tsp chopped chilli
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • cracked black pepper

Boil the beetroots skin on 30-35 minutes or until just cooked through. Let the beetroot cool, peel, the skin should come off easily, and cut out a round.

Chop the hazelnuts and mix about one third with the feta cheese, chilli and sliced sage leaves. Last add olive oil and cracked black pepper. Pile on the beetroot and bake until it is crispy.

Cube the rest of the beets and  mix with the feta cheese and serve on the side.

 

29Sept_BakedBeet

 

Carrot puree 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 5 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 large or 2-3 small cumin roasted carrot(s)
  • 1 tsp tahini
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp butter

Cumin roasted carrots19June_RoastedCarrots

Place the carrot, olive oil, butter and tahini in a blender and mix until smooth. Add more olive oil if needed to get a smooth but slightly firm consistency.

 

Butterbeans with hazelnuts and crispy sage

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 tin of butterbeans, drained
  • chopped hazelnuts
  • 15 small sage leaves
  • 1 whole, roasted garlic
  • olive oil

Heat enough olive oil to cover the base of the pan and add the sage leaves. When crispy add the hazelnuts and let them infuse the oil for a couple of minutes. Add the butterbeans and let simmer until the beans are cooked through, taste with salt and pepper.

 

Slice the tomato and add olive oil, chopped shallot onion and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar.

 

29Sept_TomatoSalad

 

Plate the carrot puree, the beetroot, the beetroot salad with the beans.

 

29Sept_BeetrootDish

 

29Sept_BeetrootWithTopping

 

The carrot puree brought the dish together and the hazelnuts added additional flavour and crunch. I am quite sure the dish would work with goats cheese again but I liked the saltiness from the feta cheese.

 

I am bringing this to Angie, The Novice Gardener’s Fiesta Friday. I have missed so many lately I don’t want to miss another one. If you have cooked something come and join us or just come and have a look and let yourself be inspired by the diverse and absolutely delicious sounding recipes! This week Angie has two co hosts, Liz from Spades, Spatulas & Spoons who brought us a delicious sounding carrot habanero sauce! The other co host is the lovely Julie, Hostess at Heart who cooks the most amazing foods and she bakes like a godess! Have a look at both their blogs and just be inspired! Happy Fiesta Friday!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
19 Responses to “Hazelnut, sage and feta roasted beetroot with butterbeans”
  1. Kaila says:

    I love all the components of this meal. The fresh flavors are fantastic. While I think the beetroot is the prettiest part, my favorite would probably be the carrot purée. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Kaila

      Am so glad you like it! You have the most amazing recipes! The carrot puree was my favourite, I wasn’t quite sure how it would work out but it was so nice with the beets and the butterbeans, the dish would have felt incomplete without it!
      Have a lovely weekennd as well and Happy FF! 🙂

  2. I love all of the roasted veggies with the spices you used. That is the best part of fall!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      It was so nice to pick (some of) the ingredients and have a little time to think of how to cook them and I was pleased it worked out!
      Thank you for co hosting FF! 🙂

  3. Loretta says:

    How fresh and earthy Petra. Isn’t it the best feeling picking your own vegetables? I have never come across the black tomatoes before, they are just so attractive, what do they taste like? I too have missed many posts as we’ve been traveling quite a bit. Enjoy your weekend.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Vegetables taste so much more when freshly picked! I am also sure they cook in less time, especially the beetroots.
      I found some black tomato seeds and just had to try them, they are very sweet and I actually prefer them black and green rather than black and red. There are so many of them in one go!
      I hope you had a lovely time on your travels and I might be able to read about them in upcoming blog posts! 🙂
      Have a great weekend as well! 🙂

  4. andy says:

    The name, pictures all sound and look like poetry !

  5. Wow! So many amazing elements! And black tomatoes? I’ve never seen them before…x

  6. So much fun to have your own garden and cook what you grow. I grew (tried) black tomatoes last year and they did not turn out so good. There are a lot of good flavors going on here and I am sure it must be delicious Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judy
      Thank you! I have to admit it is not me growing things, that is M and he has very green fingers, unlike myself! But I cook it so it is sort of teamwork!
      I will cook it again and I have one last, massive beetroot and need to come up with a way to cook it! 🙂

  7. sebbyholmes says:

    Hi Petra, I hope you’re well? I took a bit of time out as I’ve been running the smoking goat soho (Thai barbecue) for the last year. Now starting my own pop-up restaurant called pestlelondon. It’s nice to see you’re still smashing it here at ‘foodeatlove’ – this looks delicious!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Sebby
      Great to hear from you! It sounds as if you have been really busy! Your pop up looks amazing! I just had a look and will try it out for sure! 🙂
      Am glad you like the dish! It was the first time in a while I actually took my time to cook “properly”! Can’t wait to see your cookbook!

  8. Liz says:

    What wonderful and beautiful dishes! I could see them in a fancy restaurant in San Francisco. The presentation of the beets is marvelous. Gorgeous vegetarian entre.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz

      What a lovely comment! Am so glad you like it. I love the humble beetroot and it was so much fun to transform it and make it the star of the dish 🙂

  9. wow that looks fancy. u surely know how to make veggies shine !

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Prachi
      Thank you! Am glad you like it. Veggies are so pretty with all the colour, not to mention the flavours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

