My Sweden

When I first moved to the UK from Sweden I spent virtually every holiday going back. Since then I started to go less and less and now I don’t go as often as I perhaps feel I should. It is still, and will always be home but as I don’t actually have a home there it is a little strange.

 

This time I did a low key visit, I didn’t run around like I usually do. I am so lucky to still have a whole lot of lovely friends but this time I just didn’t have the energy. For the first time in many years I had some time to just walk around Gothenburg city on my own and it was lovely.

 

19-22Sept_Avenyn

 

The weather cleared later but there was beauty in the familiarity.

 

19-22Sept_MyGothenburg

 

I had lunch with a friend, we were long overdue for a catch up and we took our time over a long brunch. We both realised there was so much we had missed, so many gaps to be filled in.

 

After lunch we went to Trädgårn, a restaurant and a beautiful botanical garden. We just walked around the garden as it was a beautiful day.

 

The rose garden was in full bloom and heavy with aroma from roses in full bloom.

 

19-22Sept_Rose

 

There are sculptures and it is a great place to just walk around and enjoy the day.

 

19-22Sept_Trädgårn

 

I spent the rest of the stay with another friend and I have to admit we didn’t move much from her house. We don’t meet more than about once per year but always pick up where we left off and we just didn’t stop talking. We stayed up later than intended every night, talking, laughing and just being.

 

Americas’ World Cup was going on and we caught the Swedish catamaran being taken up and out of the water for repairs, as one of the crew members said “someone will be up all night so we can sail again tomorrow”.

 

19-22Sept_Catamaran

 

We went for walks in the woods, there is something so peaceful about having nature all around and the wind gently blowing in the tree tops.

 

19-22Sept_Lake

 

I cooked a few times and one day I used up cheese and baguette as a starter. I did three different kinds

 

Cheesy baguette toasties three ways

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes 

oven 200C or 390F 

serves 4 as a starter 

Ingredients

Cheesy hot 

  • 1 baguette round per person
  • sambal olek
  • 1 slice brie cheese/round
  • 1/2 cherry tomato per round

Spread sambal olek on the bread, add the cheese and tomato.

Blue cheese with spring onion and garlic 

  • 1 baguette round per person
  • 1 slice of a creamy blue cheese/round, I used Blue Castello
  • sliced spring onion
  • chopped garlic

Place the spring onion and garlic on a round and top with cheese before baking.

Crunchy Philadelphia 

  • 1 baguette round per person
  • Philadelphia cheese
  • sunflower seeds
  • sesame seeds
  • cracked black pepper

Spread cheese on the rounds. Top with the sunslower seeds, sesame seeds and cracked black pepper.

 

19-22Sept_Toast&Cheese

 

One of the things that I always do when I go home is to eat prawns and I managed a prawn salad. Somehow prawns never taste the same elsewhere.

 

19-22Sept_PrawnSandwich

 

We were very stereotypical and went to IKEA and I knew I had to have some meatballs. It is the same here as all over the world, it is quick, cheap and we sat there laughing feeling very Swedish.

 

19-22Sept_IKEAMeatballs

 

Coming from Gothenburg the seafood is plentiful but there is a saying that we only really eat mackerel, cod and salmon. There might be something in this as a new fast food chain Lilla Laxen (it translates to small salmon) and it is fast food where everything is about salmon. We bought little delicious bites as a starter.

 

19-22Sept_Salmon5Ways

 

It was very tasty but perhaps a little bit on the expensive side but perfect as a treat.

 

We had to stop to “fika“, it means a coffee break. Swedes drink about four cups per person per day and is the third largest coffee consumer in the world after Finland and Norway. It is a Nordic thing!

 

19-22Sept_Espresso

 

Everywhere you go in Sweden there are hot dog huts. They are an institution, as much a part of the culture as fish and chips shops in the UK. They sell hot dogs, hamburgers and sometimes spring rolls. I always try to sneak a hot dog in when I am there and this time was no exception. If you go to Sweden ask the locals where the good ones are and give it a go, it is part of the experience.

 

19-22Sept_HotDogStand

 

My friend dropped me off at the airport and I discovered that the flight was delayed. I wasn’t going to eat anything but the flight was almost an hour delayed and in the end I caved in and had a toast Skagen, the last of my Swedishness for a while. Toast Skagen is delicious and here is a Jamie Oliver recipe. This version had a slight bite to it, I think they had added a little hot sauce of some kind and it was delicious.

 

19-22Sept_ToastSkagen

 

The extra hour went past and the plane finally arrived after a bit of a traffic jam at Heathrow that delayed them taking off going to Gothenburg and I was on my way to my other home. I think I got the both of best worlds having two places to call home.

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “My Sweden”
  1. kunstkitchen says:

    My favorite country to visit. So beautiful and the food is soooo good. 🙂

  2. I want that salmon tray! My mouth is watering…

  3. gotmeghan says:

    Sweden’s such a beautiful place! 🙂

Leave a Reply

