Chicken sausage casserole, dinner in 30 minutes

The weather has turned and it feels cold outside all of the sudden. Cold weather calls for warming and hearty food. I had some chicken and apricot sausages that I bought from the market. This is the only place I know where to buy them. They are delicious and I always try to get to the Saturday market on time to get some.

There is quite a lot of produce from the allotment and I had a lot of veg in the fridge that needed using and I decided to make a casserole. I used the chicken sausages but any sausages that you have avaliable/like will of course work. It is the same with the vegetables, I used what I had at home but just use what you have avaliable. I had some already cooked pearl barley that I used but bulgur wheat would work as well.

I thought it wouldn’t take very long so I timed myself and dinner from start to serving was done in half an hour, my kind of weeknight food.

 

Chicken sausage and vegetable casserole

preparation time 5-10 minutes 

cooing time 15-20 minutes 

oven 200C or 390F 

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 1/2 small swede, peeled and cut in to small cubes
  • 1/2 sweetpotato, peeled and cut in to slightly larger cubes
  • 1 small or 1/4 butternut squash, peeled and cut in to larger chunks
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 small carrot cubed
  • 1 red chilli, sliced fine
  • 2 mellow, yellow chillies, sliced fine
  • 1/4 small marrow, peeled, de seeded and cut in to large chunks
  • 1/4 head of broccoli
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • a piece is fresh ginger, peeled and cut fine julienne, thinner than match sticks
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tin of water, the same amount as tinned tomatoes
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 6 chicken and apricot sausages
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup cooked pearl barley
  • 1-2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place the sausages in the oven. Chicken sausages are never the best looking ones, they are a little pale but they taste great.

 

12Oct_Sausages

 

Whilst the  sausages are cooking heat oil in a pan and add onion and swede when it is hot. Stir not to burn, just brown, and add the mustard and cumin seeds and let cook until the swede is almost cooked through.

 

12Oct_Spices

 

Chop the remaining vegetables. Smash the garlic and peel it but keep it in chunks.

 

12Oct_SmahedGarlic

 

When the swede starts to soften add the sweetpotato, the butternut squash, carrot, the chicken stock cube and the tomato and water.

Cut the broccoli in to chunks, the stem as well. Slice the chilli, ginger and add it to the casserole with the smashed garlic. Taste with salt and pepper. When 5-8 minutes cooking time remains add the broccoli, the cooked pearl barley and the marrow. This was a small marrow so the flesh was quite thin and I wanted it to keep it’s texture.

I took the sausages out of the oven and added them to the casserole and let everything cook for afew more minutes before serving.

 

12Oct_SausageCaserole

 

It was a perfect comfort weeknight dinner and I even had time to wash up during the last minutes of cooking and there was enough for lunch the next day as well.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Chicken sausage casserole, dinner in 30 minutes”
  1. heenie says:

    mmm looks so yum.

  2. Delicious casserole Petra, I am a big fan of chicken sausage and I often prefer a chicken burger over beef. This is a great cool weather meal.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      I am with you on the chicken sausage! The butcher does sell out so I have to be at the market early but it is always worth it 🙂 We have some bitter cold winds from the east at the moment and it went from nice and warm to what feels like freezing overnight! I am all ready for stews, casseroles and all that winter slow cooking! 🙂

  3. ooh I love sausages!!Love the idea of Chicken sausage casserole too! I know my husband would love it too 🙂 Perfect comfort food!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Dini

      it was perfect and warming comfort food. The weather has turned cold here so I think we needed it. I am off to the matket on Saturday to get more chicken sausages, they are just a little lighter than regular sauasages and so delicious, and you can just use whatever veg you have avaliable! 🙂

  4. skd says:

    Indeed it is a heart warming meal Petra 🙂

Leave a Reply

