Chinese inspired smashed cucumber

Sometimes when I read a recipe I can almost taste the flavour combinations and this was the case when the latest blog from Thirsty for Tea landed in my inbox with the fascinating headline Chinese smashed cucumber. As I read through the recipe I knew I had to make it and I wanted a big batch of it as well. They sounded like the pickled cucumbers I sometimes get when I go for Korean food and you get a selection of pickles to start with.

 

I didn’t have any black rice vinegar and I made some adjustments, you can see Bonnies recipe here. I got my Chinese vegetable cleaver and started to smash the cucumber, I amost never use it as it is so big but it was perfect for this dish. I kept the same amounts of the ingredients as Bonnie.

 

Chinese inspired smashed cucumber

preparation time 5 minutes + 30 minutes draining time

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4 as a side dish

Ingredients

  • 1 English cucumber
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 ½ tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1 tsp raw cane sugar
  • 2 smashed and chopped cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • coriander, the leaves

De seed the cucumber and cut in to chunks, keep the skin on. Smash the cucumber with a vegetable cleaver. Any good vegetable knife will work but I enjoyed using the big cleaver.

 

10Oct_BashedCucumbers

 

Place the cucumber in a coleander and sprinkle with salt. Leave for 30 minutes.

Rinse the cucumber and pat dry with a clean tea towel. Mix the remaining ingredients for the dressing and add the cucumbers when the sugar is dissolved.

 

10Oct_CucumberSalad

 

I didn’t try the dish with tea but I kept eating it and it tasted even better the next day. I tried it with curry, with cheese and just as a snack, this is a very versatile dish, thank you Bonnie for sharing!

 

12Oct_SmashedCucumbers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Chinese inspired smashed cucumber”
  1. Bonnie Eng says:

    Yum! I love these photos Petra! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you Bonnie, am glad you like them! The recipe is just lovely and I just made myself another batch! Addictive! 🙂

Leave a Reply

