Chinese Pulled Pork

The other day I couldn’t resist a boned shoulder of pork. It was a small piece, only one kilo, about two pounds. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it so I didn’t cook it until the next day. I decided that I wanted pulled pork but something different. I looked through the spices and decided to make pulled pork with a Chinese spice influence. I have cooked quite a few versions of pulled pork and I wanted something I hadn’t tried before.

It was all experimental and I wasn’t sure it would work. I have a recipe for pork belly with a savoury plum jam and I thought I would merge the pork and the jam into one dish and see if it would work.

 

Chinese pulled pork

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 2 1/2 hour

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 kg pork shoulder, diced
  • 2-3 tbsp rapeseed oil
  • 1 onion, fine diced
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup chopped garlic
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped fine
  • 1 large piece of ginger, peeled and finley sliced
  • 4 red chillies, sliced
  • 6 yellow chillies, sliced
  • 1 tbsp Szechuan peppercorns
  • 2 star anise
  • 5 fl or 2 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fish sauce
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup citrus vinegar
  • 1 tbsp raw cane sugar
  • 1 small marrow, de seeded and cubed
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup plum jam

Heat the oil in a pan and brown the pork. Fry it in batches to make sure it gets seared.

 

15Oct_CookingPork

 

Add the chopped onion, celery and garlic with the sliced chillies and ginger. Gently fry until the onions are soft. Add the fish sauce, the vinegar and the soy sauce, mix well and add the water. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 30 minutes under lid and then without the lid until almost all the liquid is gone. Pick the pieces of pork up and pull them with two forks before putting it back. When about 30 minutes remain add the marrow pieces.

When the liquid is gone add a little oil and fry the pulled pork gently. Just before serving add the plum jam, mix and serve.

 

15Oct_PP&Jam

 

The chillies were quite hot and the jam added a nice sweetness. We ate the pulled pork with bulgur wheat mixed with lettuce and Chinese inspired smashed cucumber, I can’t get enough of it!

 

15Oct_PulledPorkMeal2

 

15Oct_PulledPorkMeal1

 

Whilst the pork is cooking make the plum jam.

 

Plum jam

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 30 -40 minutes

serves 4 + extra 

Ingredients

  • 8 plums
  • 1 red chilli
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 star anise

Cut the stone from the plums and slice them. Place in a pan with the star anise, the sliced chilli and the sugar. Bring to a boil and let simmer until the plums are almost dissolved and it starts to thicken. Add more sugar if you wish but try to keep the sugar content down.

 

15Oct_Plums

 

The pulled pork was delicious, I loved the Chinese flavours, it made a fun difference to the usual barbecue sauce and I loved the heat from the chillies. If you have any ideas of other flavours for pulled pork let me know and I will try them!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Chinese Pulled Pork”
  1. Ginger says:

    This looks amazing! What a delicious combination of flavours, Petra – made my mouth water instantly!

Leave a Reply

