Sticky honey and lemon chicken and a chocolate fondant

What do you do when you have surprise guests? Well, in this case I had a days notice and lucikly the guests gracefully picked a day when I had planned plenty of food and a starter that was too generous for two so in all, great timing! I love to have lots of people around the table and share a nice meal.

 

Like most foodies I have quite a few cookbooks and sometimes I like to just have a browse through the book and enjoy the pictures and reading though the recipes. This time I got stuck on chef Gordon Ramsay‘s sticky lemon chicken. I love anything sticky and lemon sounded too good to pass on. Chef Ramsay has some great recipes where it is all about the flavour shining through. With the guests coming I thought this would be a perfect recipe, you can read chef Ramsay’s original recipe here.

I did just a few minor changes and here is my version. It worked a treat and it was just as good as I thought it would be. One of the guests is a vegetarian so I made my hazelnut and sage roasted beetroots with carrot puree for her and it seemed to be appreciated.

 

I served the mackerel with avocado and pommegranate salsa as a starter, you can see the recipe here.

 

18Oct_Mackerel

 

I started by roasting the carrots. 18Oct_RoastedCarrots

 

I got the carrots and potatoes roasting first as they would take the longest and then I got started on the chicken. I cut it up in 13 pieces so that the chicken would cook quicker and so that I would get as much sticky sauce on as much chicken meat as possible. This is a fairly quick recipe and perfect for when you don’t have a lot of time and still want something impressive to serve.

 

Sticky lemon chicken, slightly amended from Gondon Ramsay’s original

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sized chicken, cut up
  • salt and pepper
  • vegetable oil for frying
  • about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup shaoxing rice wine
  • 1 head of garlic cut in half
  • 2 good sized sprigs of rosemary
  • 4 tbsp honey
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 thinly sliced lemons, use unwaxed and organic of you can
  • 1/2 dl water
  • salt and pepper to taste if needed

Salt and pepper the chicken all around and panfry until nice and browned. Do this in batches to make sure it is evenly cooked. When the chicken is browned add the garlic, flesh side down and add the rosemary. Let the oil infuse for a minute or two and then add the chicken back. Add the shaoxing rice wine and put the lid on and let cook for 20 minutes.

Add the honey, the soy sauce and the sliced lemon. Let cook for another 10 minutes or until the sauce is starting to thicken and become sticky. Taste and add salt and pepper if necessary before serving.

 

18Oct_LemonChicken1

 

The potatoes were done just as I plated up the chicken.

 

18Oct_RoastedPotatoe

 

I replicated the vegetarian meal I did the other night and served with the butterbeans as well.

 

29Sept_BeetrootWithTopping

 

I did beetroots for everyone and they went very well with the chicken and roasted potatoes.

I don’t make desserts very often but with the weather so gloomy and fankly, some quite terrible losses in rugby that made the day even slightly more grey I thought we might need something to cheer us up and made another Gordon Ramsay recipe, chocolate fondants. This time I did stick to the recipe except I exchanged tia maria for calvados and here is the recipe.

 

18Oct_Fondant

 

Everyone was happy all around. I wasn’t going to make roasted potatoes with the butterbeans but as one of our guests is Irish there was no way I could have left them out!

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Sticky honey and lemon chicken and a chocolate fondant”
  1. What a delicious meal that chicken just looks so good I want to grab a piece and that dessert is stunning.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      It was so easy to make, I will make it again, and it is a perfect sharing dish as well!
      Am glad you like it! I was going to make a ready mixed cake (when you just add egg and vegetable oil) but the chocolate fondants are actually faster to make! The calvados added a really nice flavour. 🙂

Leave a Reply

