Crispy black pudding dumplings

My freezer had a bit of a moment and most of what was in it had to be defrosted and used. Luckily I recently cleaned it and used up most everything but a packet of dumplings defrosted and had to be used.

I wasn’t sure what to do with them and found a recipe for Manti, Turkish dumplings. I read through the recipe but had my own ideas and in the end I used the way they shaped the dumplings. I liked the idea of the soft and the crispy wonton wrappers, they also look quite spectacular.

 

I had a black pudding from the butchers. I have never had dumplings with black pudding but I thought why not?

 

Black pudding crispy dumplings 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 30 minutes 

oven 170C or 340F and 240 or 460F

serves 3, if served as part of a meal allow 4-5 dumplings per person

Ingredients

  • 1 small black pudding
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 onion chopped fine
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of cooked, fine diced butternut squash
  • 15 dumplings wrappers
  • eggwhite
  • butter
  • 1 tbsp oil

Break the blackpudding up and mix with the egg yolk and the onion. Line an ovenproof dish with the oil.

Place diced butternut squash and a small amount of black pudding on a dumpling wrapper.

 

31Oct_MantiDumplingFilling

 

Brush egg white along the edges that you are closing, shape and place in the oven proof dish. Repeat until the dish is full.

 

31Oct_MantiDumplingsToBeCooked

 

Shave butter on top and bake for 25 minutes. Then turn the heat up and remove when the drumpling wrappers are golden and crispy.

 

31Oct_MantiDumplings2

 

31Oct_MantiDumplings

 

I mixed some yoghurt with a crushed garlic clove and served it on the side as a dipping sauce. I was a little nervous as this was a completely new recipe but the black pudding was delicious, especially with the crispy dumpling skin and the garlic sauce. I can’t wait to make this again.

 

I liked the dumplings so much I decided to bring a plate of hot and crispy dumplings to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. This week is has two co hosts, Kalia, GF Life 24/7 and Juhls, The Not So Screative Cook. Kalia has a great blog with delicious gluten free recipes, and Juhls, despite the name of her blog is a very talented and creative cook!

If you have cooked come and join us or just have a look and be inspired!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Crispy black pudding dumplings”
  1. Ginger says:

    They are absolutely stunning! What a great way to serve up black pudding (beats my local caff ;-))

    • petra08 says:

      hi Steffi
      Thank you! I did like the blackpudding this way! A nice difference to the usual! Saying that I don’t eat it very often, it is very rich but it worked well with the butternut and the crispy wonton! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend (in the rain!) 🙂

  2. Jhuls says:

    See? This is what I mean by you post most interesting stuffs here at FF. It’s nice to learn about the dishes new to me like this one – these look awesome, Petra. Thank you for sharing! 🙂 xx

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you Juhls!
      I think this might be a great way to eat black pudding going forward! I will make them again and invite others over to share it! 🙂 xx

  3. Angie says:

    What’s black pudding? Is it like blood sausage? Btw, this would have been a perfect Halloween appetizer! Next year, then 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Yes I believe it is the same thing! It is quite rich and has lots of flavour so this was a great way to get little bites of it! You are right, it does sound like a Halloween dish! 🙂 x

  4. This is another new one for me! I’ve never had this one either, but it looks delectable!

  5. Loretta says:

    Gorgeous use of black pudding Petra. Love how innovative you are with your dishes, these would definitely make a great appetizer.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Am glad you like them, I will make them again, I like the richness of black pudding and these were perfect little bites 🙂 Have a great Sunday!

  6. Kaila says:

    Thank you so much for bringing your crispy black pudding dumplings to the fiesta this week. I’m glad that your dumplings didn’t go to waste when your freezer defrosted AND these look like a tasty treat. Hope you have a fabulous weekend! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Kaila
      Thank you for your sweet comment! I am glad the dumplings defrosted too! I hope you have a great Sunday and thank you for co hosting FF! 🙂

Leave a Reply

