Creamy pumpkin and cumin soup

My neighbour had bought a pumpkin. It was a fancy variety and it was really pretty. I saw it and realised that it was so pretty I wanted one too! I actually didn’t know where she had bought it but when I walked passed the greengrocer I saw a similar kind and I knew I had to get it. I never had what might be a tiny bit of pumkin envy before!

 

My punpkin 11Nov_Pumpkin

 

It wasn’t the biggest pumpkin so I decided to use it as a starter for two. If you serve it with bread as a maincourse count one pumpkin per person, the recipe is easy to make in to a bigger batch.  The soup is smooth and creamy but there is no cream in it.

 

Creamy pumpkin, goats cheese and cumin soup 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 1 1/2 hour 

oven 170C or 340F

serves 2 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • 1 small pumpkin
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seed
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup milk, I used semi skimmed
  • goats cheese, according to taste and a little for garnish
  • a small knob of butter
  • salt to taste

Make small cuts in to the pumpkin but keep it whole. Place the whole pumpkin in to oven and let it bake until it is soft to touch. Let it cool enough to handle.

 

11Nov_RoastedSquash

 

When it is possible to handle cut the top off and scoop out the flesh. Disgard the seeds. Place the scooped out pumpkin and lid in the oven whilst making the soup. Place the pumpkin flesh in the blender with goast cheese, the butter and the milk. Heat oil in a pan with the cumin seeds and toast them before adding them and the oil to the soup. Blend until smooth, add more milk if necessary. Salt to taste.

Garnish with cumin seeds and a sprinkle of goats cheese before serving it in the pumpkin shell.

 

11Nov_PlatedPumpkinSoup

 

The soup is quite thick, if you like it more runny just add a little milk when blending. I like the thick consistency. The soup is very smooth and it tastes like warming winter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
24 Responses to “Creamy pumpkin and cumin soup”
  1. kunstkitchen says:

    Looks delish! Hmm. That’s what I call “squash”. My Dutch niece calls this pumpkin from the French word.

    • petra08 says:

      Funny you should say I wasn’t actually sure to call is squash or pumpkin but decided in the end that it had the pumpkin shape! 🙂 This soup is so easy to make and perfect when it is getting cold and dark outside! Have a great weekend 🙂

  2. Looks wonderful Petra, beautiful presentation and the soup sounds delicious. I think the combination of pumpkin and cumin is perfect.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      It was such a lovely looking pumpkin I had to use the shell!
      Cumin worked realy well with the sweet pumpkin, it gave it a nice flavour 🙂

  3. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx♠xoxo

  4. They sell lots of different little squashes and pumpkins in Lidl 🙂

  5. I have pumpkin envy too Petra, every time I see them in the store I want to buy so many just to have them sitting around so I can enjoy their beauty! Lovely soup and simple – thanks for sharing with Fiesta Friday 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      Pumpkins are so retty and decorative! I couldn’t resist this one!
      Sometimes simple is the best! 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday!

  6. Pumpkin envy, that is perfect!! I love this dish, anything with cumin is always top on my list and the combination of pumpkin and cumin is the best! I love the way you have served the soup in it’s little pumpkin shell so that everyone else who see’s it can get a little pumpkin envy too. Thanks for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday! xx

    • petra08 says:

      hi Stef
      I didn’t used to like cumin and then one day I just did! And it is lovely with the pumpkin 🙂 Am glad you like it!
      My friends pumpkin was soooo pretty I had to get one too, a bit childish I know but I could eat it in the end and was very happy! I guess I should tell her ha ha 🙂 Happy FF!

  7. nancyc says:

    This soup looks delicious-so thick and creamy, and perfect for chilly weather!

  8. Loretta says:

    What a beauty! This pumpkin is just gorgeous, I love all the markings on it. Isn’t it great when you can use the vegetable case to present your wonderful flavored soup? I’ll bet it went down a treat.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Loretta
      I agree this was a looker! And even roasted it still looked great! Yes, it was appreciated, soup season has begun! 🙂

  9. This sounds just lovely. And it’s so darned cute! Hugs.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Teagan
      Thank you, am so glad you like it, it was the cutest pumpkin AND it was delicious! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  10. petra08 says:

    Hi Jack
    Thank you for the re blog! I hope you have a good weekend 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] can’t say that I’m a big fan of pumpkins, but I like the look of this creamy pumpkin and cumin soup from English girl Petra at Food Eat Love.  And, I’ve just been reading some stuff that says […]



Leave a Reply

