Thanksgiving dinner and pecan pie

It has been strangley warm lately and it doesn’t quite feel like November but sunshine and almost stormy weather tempted me to go for a walk on the pier. Standing at the very end watching the sea makes me feel like it is a little easier to breathe and I have always loved the sense of space. The sea is ever changing and it even looked different from different parts of the pier!

 

14Nov_CargoShip2

 

The sun was beautiful on the water and I couldn’t stop snapping away with the camera.

 

14Nov_Pier

 

As the weekend approached activities in the house increased. I had a house to tidy up and food to plan and prepare with friends arriving. I was thinking about what to cook and as it almost coincided with one of my friends birthday I thought I would make something different. In the end I decided to make a Thanksgiving dinner. I haven’t had one since I was in the US during Thanksgiving and that was quite a while ago.

This week is special as, I am co hosting Fiesta Friday with the lovely Loretta, Safari of the Mind! Her blog is full of delicious recipes and interesting stories from her travel! Come and join us if you have cooked something or just browse and get inspired by amazing recipes!

 

Once in a restaurant on holiday I had sweet corn pudding as a side dish to steak. I loved it and have been on the hunt for a recipe ever since with no sucess. During my research for the Thanksgiving dinner I finally came across one, I saved it with the speed of light and couldn’t wait to try it. I found it on the Food Network site and here it is. I followed the recipe to a tee and it was great. I will make some tweaks next time but it is a great recipe and I am so happy I found one.

 

My Thanksgiving Dinner menu

Pumpkin and cumin soup (recipe here

Bacon roasted crown of turkey with mash, sweet corn pudding and gravy

Pecan pie 

 

I did think of having some cheese after the dessert but there was no room for even a crumble of cheese!

 

Sweet Corn pudding 14Nov_CornPudding

 

There is no Thanksgiving without turkey. I couldn’t quite cope with the thought of a whole turkey as there would be too much meat so I ended up buying a crown. It turned out it would most likely have fed ten to twelve people and there was only six of us but we had just enough leftovers not to get tired of it.

 

Bacon turkey crown 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time about 2 1/2 hours, until the juices run clear and allow 20-30 mins resting time 

oven 175 C or 350F

serves 10-12

Ingredients

  • A turkey crown, about 2 1/2 kg
  • 25 gr or 0.9 oz butter (room temperature)
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • enough bacon rashes to cover the crown

Mix the butter with the thyme, salt and crushed garlic. Loosen the turkey skin from the breast without removing it and place the butter between the meat and the skin. Place the bacon slices on top and roast in the oven until the juices run clear.

 

Prepared turkey 14Nov_TurkeyToCook

 

Roasted turkey 14Nov_TurkeyRoasted

 

I let the turkey rest for 30 minutes before slicing one breast and the meat was very juicy.

 

14Nov_Turkey

 

In true tradition I did gravy and a silky smooth mash to go with the meal.

 

Quick turkey gravy 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

serves 6-8

Ingredients

  • 1 carrot, cubed fine
  • 1 onion, chopped fine
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped fine
  • 5 dl or 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp cream (optional)
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • a little cold water
  • 2 tbsp corn flour
  • the cooking juices from the turkey

Heat the oil in a pan and add the garlic, onion and carrot. Let the vegetables cook soft and lightly brown. Add the soy sauce, the vinegar and the rice wine. let cook for a minute before adding the chicken stock. Let the sauce boil for 10 minutes and then mix the corn flour with the cold water before adding it to the sauce. Let the corn flour boil and thicken. Last add the cream, if using, and the cooking juices from the turkey, taste with salt and pepper and strain before serving.

 

In order to give the meal an all American feeling I thought a pecan pie would be a perfect dessert. I have never made one before but I love nuts and pecans are high on my list. Here is the original recipe from the talented chef Aaron Sanchez. I did a few tweaks as you can see below. I have to admit I did make ready made shortcrust pastry as I was short of time but next time I will make my own.

 

Pecan pie

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 55 minutes 

oven 175C or 350F 

serves 8 

Ingredients

  • 1 pack of shortcrust pastry
  • 200 gr or 7 oz of pecan nuts
  • 30 gr butter
  • 2 1/2 dl brown sugar
  • seeds of 1 vanilla pod
  • grated zest of an orange
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 dl or 1 cup runny honey
  • 3 large eggs

Roll out the pie dough and line a pie dish. Melt the butter in a pan and add the sugar and whisk until the sugar melted. Add the orange zest, vanilla seeds, salt and runny honey. I enlisted help placing the pecan nuts in the shell, perfectly done and I am sure quite a few nuts were eaten in the process but that is the joy of baking, isn’t it?

 

14Nov_PecanPieToBake

 

Place the pecan nuts in the pie shell and add the filling. Last add the butter mix and bake until set, 50-55 minutes. Let it cool before cutting.

 

14Nov_PecanPie

 

This pecan pie was all I hoped for, sticky, nutty and goey, perfect with ice cream.

 

14Nov_PecanPieSlice

 

The pie was so rich I could make some neighbours happy as well with a piece. Reportedly eaten with berries soaked in creme de cassis, why didn’t I think of that?! It sounds like a great combination.

 

It was an early Thanksgiving but I thought there is no better way to celebrate this than with friends so why not do it a little early? To everyone who still havne’t celebrated this I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving!

 

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

Comments
30 Responses to “Thanksgiving dinner and pecan pie”
  1. Angie says:

    Corn pudding is a must-make Thanksgiving side dish in my family. Last year I steamed mine, then blow torched the top, lol!

    Your meal sounds perfect! You even made our other must-make – pecan pie! But the best is that bacon-covered turkey, WOW! 🙂

    • Angie says:

      Ok, I didn’t think it was going to embed the picture, and so huge! Sorry about that! 😀

      • petra08 says:

        Your corn pudding is sooooo much prettier than mine! I will make sure to check out the recipe! The picture is so beautiful it makes a lovely addition to the blog! 🙂 x

    • petra08 says:

      I knew I should have asked you, I have been searching for the corn pudding recipe for years! It is so lovely, I like the idea of steaming it, I was thinking about making it in a bain marie for a while but ran out time to try new things in the end, next time! The pecan pie was delicious! Am thinking I might need one for Christmas as well! Bacon on the turkey is a must, it just makes it even nicer 🙂 Happy FF!

      • Angie says:

        I only steamed it because I ran out of oven space. But baked is best, actually. With the caramelized top, it’s hard to beat!

      • petra08 says:

        Oh I see! I do know that feeling of running out of oven space, sometimes it is a careful time dance to get it all done! 🙂

  2. Loretta says:

    Just gorgeous Petra, all of your dishes and what a treat for your friends to celebrate Thanksgiving with you. Pumpkin pie is on my menu too. You are absolutely right, sometimes the bird takes center stage, but there’s just so much else, this is a dinner fit for a King, or is it Queen in your case? 🙂 Thanks for co-hosting with me.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      I think we are queens! 🙂 Thanksgiving is a nice time to go all out and do a “proper” meal. Next year I might even give corn bread a go!
      It is lovely to co host with you and let’s party! Happy FF! 🙂

  3. Beautiful meal Petra, everything looks so delicious and beautiful. Thank you for co hosting and a very happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Oh, I know I missed the greens (I found them after the meal set aside), but am glad I got it all out there on time! Happy Thanksgiving and Fiesta Friday! Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  4. You are such an amazing host. Either to your home guests or us FF friends. You definitely prepared a feast, and I love how you served the corn pudding. Pecan is one of my favorites! I could almost feel the stress just leaving my body staring at your pictures of the sea. Always amazing.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      I do somwtimes with our Fiesta Fridays were real and we could share all this food! Everyone loved the corn pudding and now once I have the recipe I will make it again and again! I was even thinking if it would fit with the Christmas dinner!
      Pecan is my favourite as well and I never knew pecan pie was so easy to make! 🙂 Lethal for the waistline!
      Happy FF and I hope you have a great, and foodie, weekend! 🙂

  5. Keith Trawick says:

    The way to do it!!! PEACAN PIE is the most fabulous pie out there…lol better than pizza…and sex!! LOL

  6. Suchitra says:

    While I love your delicious thanksgiving dinner menu, it was the pecan pie that drew me to the post. I have been looking for an easy recipe for a while now! Thanks for sharing. Happy FF and happy co-hosting!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sus
      I am with you on the pecan pie, it was a great recipe and I can’t believe it was so easy as well! I am glad you like it 🙂

  7. The pecan pie looks amazing. I am already drooling… Lol. Thanks for the recipe, Petra! Loved the pictures of the sea too.

    Wishing you a very Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Anugya
      Thank you! 🙂 The pecan pie was, I have to admit great! I never knew it was so easy to make and it will be a permanent feature on my list of desserts! 🙂
      I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving as well and a good week 🙂

  8. What a fantastic feast Petra – you did quite the job of providing your friends with all of your Thanksgiving treats. It’s always fun to see what other people make. Thanks for sharing so many yummy recipes and especially for co-hosting this week 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Judi
      Thank you so much! It is interesting to have a peak at what others are cooking (and I have to admit in the shops what they buy sometimes)!
      Happy Thanksgiving and I hope you will have a nice week ahead 🙂

  9. Yummy your whole dinner looks awesome! I do especially love the pecan pie!!! yummy!

  10. Ginger says:

    Looks and sounds delicious! And how lucky you are with those inspirational neighbours!
    Have a lovely weekend!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Steffi
      Thank you so much 🙂
      Yes I have the best neighbours!
      Late response I know, I hope you had a good weekend and a great week ahead! 🙂

  11. nancyc says:

    Pecan pie is one of my favorite desserts! Your pecan pie looks amazing!

  12. apsara says:

    I love your pecan pie recipe, so simple and easy! Thank you for co-hosting the fiesta. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  13. Vasun says:

    I’m in awe of anyone who roasts a whole turkey! Wow!

Leave a Reply

