Raw satsuma cake

I read an article the other day that most young men would rather leave the house without their wallet than their smartphone. Thinking about it it is amazing how technology has changed our lives so completely. The internet puts information at our fingertips and the smartphones means that we are never far away from anyone. Friends, no matter how far away are close and can be updated in an instant through a phone call, a text message or via social media. My friend once told me I shouldn’t admit to my complete lack of sense of location but it is too obvious not to and the map on my phone has saved me many times!

 

We use social media to keep in touch with friends and it is also a great way to find new friends, or just get updated by interesting feeds. This is how I came across this recipe. the original has figs but in the spirit of pre Christmas I decided to use mini satsumas. They are peaking now, cheap, plentiful (even if imported) and delicious. My eye was instantly drawn to this and I knew I had to give it a go. To make this recipe even better it is raw AND vegetarian, vegan if you replace the honey with maple suryp or agave nectar, and I can’t wait to share this with you. Here is the original recipe, I only did a few small tweaks. The original recipe is for five bars but this is incredibly filling.

 

I didn’t pre plan enough and only soaked the cashew nuts in boiling water for 45 minutes but it worked a treat.

 

Soaked cashew nuts 24Nov_Cashews

 

Raw nutty satsuma cake

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 6

Ingredients

The base

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup dates without the stones and roughly chopped
  • 1 dl nuts walnuts or pecan nuts
  • a pinch of salt

The filling

  • 1 1/2 soaked cashew nuts
  • 1 tbsp full fat coconut milk, the solid
  • 1 star anise
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 melted coconut oil
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Topping

  • 2 mini satsumas
  • pomegranate seeds

Melt the coconut oil and add the star anise and the cinamon stick. Leave to infuse for as long as possible whilst making the base.

 

24Nov_StarAnise

 

Mix the dates, salt and the walnut or pecan nuts in a food processor.

 

24Nov_Base

 

Line a small baking tin or a plastic storage container for food with clingfilm. Add the mixed nuts and dates. Press down until the base is firm.

 

Place the filling ingredients in the food processor and mix until smooth. Pour the filling on top of the cake base and add the peeled and sliced satsuma and pomegranate seeds., cover with cling film and place in the freezer.

 

24Nov_Cake

 

The recipe says freeze for five hours but I couldn’t wait. I took the cake out as soon as it was semi firm, about an hour and a half later to try a square.

 

24Nov_CakePiece

 

The cake is incredibly tasty. I am glad I didn’t have more than a square, it was super rich and the cake could easily be for eight people. The rest of the cake will make for a great dessert with friends, good and healthy!

 

I am bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday, cakes and crowds are always good together! If you have coked or just want to hang out and get inspired please come and join us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Raw satsuma cake”
  1. tentimestea says:

    This cake looks very delicious, and so pretty with the satsuma and pomegranate seeds! I can see why you only need a small amount, as it must be quite rich and also flavourful from the anise and cinnamon. I still have yet to try any raw “baking” and so the process, and how cashews and coconut products are transformed into bars, still sounds very mysterious to me!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi
      I have never done a raw cake before but it is super easy and it does taste great, and it tastes even better after a couple of days! I served it as a dessert but in small squares after dinner and it seems it was appreciated! There is enough sweetness to have the cake taste. The filling was my favourite and I did think about pecan nuts next time instead of the walnuts. Give it a go! And if you do, I hope you will like it!
      Have a great week ahead! 🙂

  2. Love this! This is a cake I would actually eat 🙂

  3. Loretta says:

    Oh what a wonderful treat this would be. So colorful and flavorful Petra, great job! You’re right social media has changed everyone’s lives in more ways than one… but would you believe it if I told you my husband and I don’t have smart phones? We have regular cell phones with no data, our children nag us to get with the times, but we don’t have a need for it, so why get with the times? :)). We sometimes even forget we have cell phones.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Oh! I love that you don’t have smartphones! I am addicted to mine, sad but true! It i a little like having the world at my fingertips but if I really need to chill out I turn it off!
      am glad you like the cake, I have never tried anything like it. Next time I will most likely try it with pecan nuts instead and maybe toasted, I know not raw anymore but I think it might work a treat 🙂

  4. Hilda says:

    This looks like a real treat of a cake.

Leave a Reply

