Tomato salad with vegetarian tapenade

The other day I was reading (again) Elaine’s, Foodbod , blog. I wasn’t looking for anything, just browsing. Like Elaine, I absolutely love dips and sauces. I had a few dips in mind to make but when I came across some beautiful tomatoes in the shop and a tapenade came to mind. It would be a perfect way to use my Antichi Frantoi Francescani Extra Virgin Olive Oil that Sfoodle gave me to review. Usually black olives are used for tapenade but a jar of organic green, pimiento stuffed olives called out to me. You can read more about the olive oil in the next post, it is outstanding.

The last thing I picked up in the shop was a burrata, one of the most amazing cheeses in the world where the outer shell is mozzarella and the inside is a mix of mozzarella and cream. I fell in love with this cheese the first time I had it at 10 Greek Street, served with fresh grated pepper, zest of a lemon and a drizzle of great olive oil. It makes me happy just thinking about it!

 

Burrata01FebBurrata

 

Olives 05Dec_Olives

 

Vegetarian green olive tapenade

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup green olives (I added the pimiento stuffing as well)
  • 1 tbsp capers
  • 1 tbsp white miso
  • 1 clove of garlic, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1 bunch of coriander stalks, chopped
  • 1 tsp runny honey
  • about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil

Place all of the ingredients except the olive oil in a mixer and chop. Add the olive oil a little at the time until you have the desired consistency. Taste and let stand until you are ready to serve.

 

For the salad I had tomatoes, basil leaves, shallot rings, shredded burrata and I made little bread crisps to serve the tapenade on. Last I did a drizzle of the Antichi Frantoi olive oil and then I just tucked in.

 

05Dec_TomatoSaladClose

 

05Dec_TomatoTapenadeSalad

 

The tapenade was a great addition to the salad and it brought body and enhanced the flavours of the tomato. This would be a great starter all year around or beef it up and it can be a nice stand alone, light lunch or dinner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Tomato salad with vegetarian tapenade”
  1. il Teo says:

    Goodness gracious! It’s mouth-wateringly delicious!

  2. Loretta says:

    What a delicious tapenade Petra, and that cheese looks oh so delicious. Beautiful and healthy flavors all around.

Leave a Reply

