Olive oil ice cream and candied olives

There are olive oils and then there are olive oils. Some will pass your taste buds and not even be noticed and some will give you that lovely grassy flavour that lifts any dish. Good extra virgin olive oil has a beautiful green colour and I was delighted to take part of the Sfoodle trials of their Antichi Frantoi Francescani Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

 

05Dec_OliveOilBottle

 

Sfoodle is a slow food market place, offering organic produce from carefully selected manufacturers, focused on food that has been prepared and processed in a sustainable farming environment. The Antichi Frantoi Francescani Extra Virgin Olive Oil has an intense flavour, it is very grassy with peppery notes, it is absolutely delicious.

 

Olive oil and salads is a marriage made in heaven and it was an absolute given. I poured some olive oil on a plate and dipped bread in it and after that I wanted to make something more unusual. Something that would show off this beautiful and product.

 

Olive oil 05Dec_OliveOil

 

After some thinking I knew I wanted to make extra virgin olive oil ice cream. I figured that if I would ever make it, I would have to use the best possible extra virgin olive oil that I can get for the best possible flavour.

 

I have never made ice cream before and I didn’t have an ice cream maker but the idea of the extra virgin olive oil ice cream was so appealing I actually made my way to the shop and bought one, thinking “this had better be worth it” whilst carrying my new kitchen gadget home.

 

There are lots of recipes for olive oil ice cream online but in the end I found this recipe in the Guardian that caught my eye. I did half a batch as I wasn’t sure what it would taste like. and I didn’t have smoked sea salt so I used just normal sea salt.

 

I wanted something that would add to the olive taste of the ice cream as well as something extra and I found this recipe for candied olives, it sounded too good not to make. I did a few little tweaks.

 

Candied olives

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes cooking and 35 minutes in the oven 

oven 150C or 300F

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup olives
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp demerara sugar + more for sprinkling
  • crushed chilli for sprinkling

Place the lemon juice, sugar, water and olives in a pan and reduce until you have a syrup consistency and it is clinging to the olives.

Place the olives in an oven proof dish on greaseproof paper and bake. When you take the olives out shake them and sprinkle with sugar and chilli flakes.

 

Candied olives 05Dec_CandiedOlive

 

The olives are sweet and salty, the chilli added a nice kick.

 

The ice cream was a little soft but I couldn’t wait and had to try it. I did taste it and it was lovely. The olive oil taste came through but it made for a smooth and soft ice cream. I brought some to a friends house and we all agreed that we all liked it and none of us had it before. The olives added texture and delivered a nice flavour boost.

 

I liked the ice cream so much I am bringing it to Angie’s foodie party, Fiesta Friday. This is the most fun place to see friends and to get inspired.

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “Olive oil ice cream and candied olives”
  1. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🌒xoxo

  2. Oh Petra, I love olive oil ice cream. There is a great recipe on food52. The resulting ice cream is just as you described. So smooth and creamy and yummy. Those candied olives are intriguing, have never heard of that before. Beautiful complex dessert.Now that you have an ice cream maker I am sure we can expect some amazing ice cream posts.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      I had never had olive oil ice cream before but couldn’t stop thinking about it and ever went across London to get a machine so I wouldn’t have to wait. It was worth it! I loved the fact that it wasn’t too sweet but still sweet enough to be a dessert. Do try the candied olives but get good olives! The lemon goes so well with them and the sprinkle of chilli really lifted them I thought.
      I do have some ice cream ideas so there will absolutely be more to come! 🙂 x

  3. Loretta says:

    I’ve never heard of olive oil ice cream, but the idea sure is inviting. I love ice cream, but am always a bit hesitant to buy an entire tub when it calls my name each time I go past the freezer :). This caught my eye, beautifully creamy and oh so delicious looking.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you 🙂
      I couldn’t wait to try the ice cream, none of us had it before but we all loved it! It is so smooth and creamy it is a real treat, especially with a the candied olive.
      I don’t eat ice cream very often, like you I am not keen on a whole tub but now when I can make it myself I might make it more often!

  4. I have never heard this ice cream before, but this one sounds good, These candied olives are awesome with sweet, and chilli flakes. Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sadhna
      I had heard of it but I had never tried it and it was a lovely surprise. The olives, especially with the lemon and chilli, perfect for snacking or in a cocktail as well as with the ice cream. Maybe even in a salad… 🙂

  5. chefjulianna says:

    Oh Petra! You continue to amaze me!! I have never even heard of olive oil ice-cream, but it sounds just so gorgeous! I may just have to go out during the post-Christmas sales and get an ice-cream maker and try your recipe… I will be dreaming of this recipe until then! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I am glad you like it. I had never had it but thought I had to do something special with such amazing olive oil. I don’t even eat a lot of ice cream but I just had to make it and I think you will love it. I did like the candied olives but it would go with anything sweet as well. It was sooo smooth! How is your house coming along? 🙂

      • chefjulianna says:

        Well, we are in the house now, but still surrounded by mountains of boxes! I am starting to do a bit of cooking, and I think I am going to love the new kitchen! Hope to get back to blogging really soon. 🙂

      • petra08 says:

        Hi Julianna, moving is always a bit of a trauma I find and I still have a couple of boxes that I haven’t unpacked (luckily we have a shed).
        Saying that it is exciting to move as well and your new kitchen sounds good! can’t wait to see you back blogging. I just did your Japanese curry again, it is so delicious 🙂

  6. This sounds awesome, I love the idea of olive oil ice cream and then boom you throw in the candies olives. What an awesome combo!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Stef
      Thank you it was a great combo, the olive oil ice cream was so smooth, I will do it again and the olives a great surprise, the lemon juice and chilli added so much flavour 🙂

  7. Vasun says:

    Hi Petra. Was wondering if you used fresh olives or the ones which have already been brined (normally sold in supermarkets) for the candied olives?

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Vasun

      I used brined, organic olives, I thought I had better get some good one for the first trial but I would give any brined a go 🙂 If you like olives I hope you will give this a go! 🙂

  8. petra08 says:

    Thank you for the re blog 🙂

  9. petra08 says:

    Thank you for the reblog 🙂

  10. petra08 says:

    Thank you I am glad you like it 🙂

  11. petra08 says:

    Thank you for the re blog 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Source: Olive oil ice cream and candied olives […]

  2. […] Source: Olive oil ice cream and candied olives […]



Leave a Reply

