Roasted cherry tomatoes and mozarella salad

Every year I plan to do a “Bridget Jones”, i.e write Christmas cards accompanied by a bottle of wine sitting in my living room feeling all ready for Christmas. She isn’t known to be well organised but I like the idea of the wine. My reality is instead that Christmas always seems to creep up on me and I end up running around like a maniac last minute worrying about everything I haven’t done and then as if by magic it comes together. I am hoping to end up somewhere a bit more organised this year and of course, that it will come together with the help of a little magic.

 

Being busy doesn’t stop me from thinking abut food and I bought some cherry tomatoes on the vine the other day. They looked fine and tasted ok but as it often is in the winter, they don’t have a lot of taste. Roasting them is perfect, it brings out and intensify the favour. I was in the kitchen cooking and thought I would roast off some tomatoes and make a salad with some left over mozzarella.

 

Roasted cherry tomatoes 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20-25 minutes 

oven 170C or 340F

serves 2 as a starter 

Ingredients

Cut the tomatoes in half. Add the oil, salt and pepper before roasting the tomatoes.

 

13Dec_TomatoesCut

 

I didn’t add any herbs as I was just after the tomato flavour. Roast the tomatoes until they start to caramelize on the edges and let them cool slightly.

 

13Dec_RoastedTomato

 

Plate them with shredded fresh mozzarella cheese, shallot onion rings and cress. Drizzle with olive oil and enjoy. The tomatoes have tons of flavour and I couldn’t resist pairing them with the classic mozzarella that added soft creaminess and the sharpness of the onion.

 

13Dec_TomatoSalad2

 

13Dec_TomatoSalad1

 

This is a very simple dish with humble ingredients, showing a little patience can bring out so much flavour. A perfect dish when you just have a little time to stop but want something really tasty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Roasted cherry tomatoes and mozarella salad”
  1. Becky Ellis says:

    Wow! I love this recipe and your photos are fabulous!

  2. Love it Petra, one of my favorite combinations never tried with roasted tomatoes.

  3. Linda says:

    I agree! I hate tomatoes in the winter…so tasteless! Roasting them is a wonderful thing!! 🙂

  4. Those tomatoes!!! I do love roasted cherry tomatoes 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      It is such a simple thing and it bring so much flavour! Like so many foods they work so well with cheese, my biggest weakness 🙂

  5. Corina says:

    It looks gorgeous! I love how simple it is but still really tasty.

Leave a Reply

