Crab ravioli in a ginger broth

I went to buy some fish for dinner the other day. The fishmonger had his usual suspects and I asked him if he would get any crabs. He scratched his head and said something about “the crabs haven’t shown so far” and I know that this actually meant that yes it is season but they haven’t caught any. When I returned a couple of days later to get some eggs I was completely side tracked by some just caught crabs! Needless to say I left with a big smile and a nice crab.

 

As I had been thinking about crab for quite a while I knew that I wanted to make crab ravioli in ginger broth. Ravioli is a great way to use up the brown crab meat, it doesn’t look as nice as the white meat but the taste is delicious.

 

Start by making the ginger broth, it needs time to slowly simmer away. I took the meat out of the crab and placed some of the shells in the broth. There is a lot of white meat in the main body as well as the claws.

 

13Dec_Crab

 

Ginger broth 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 1 1/2 hours 

serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1.4 l or 7 cups of water
  • 1 carrot, roughly cut
  • 6 peppercorns
  • 2 bayleaves
  • sliced ginger
  • 1 onion, cut in quarters
  • 1 garlic, cut in half
  • 2 celery stalks
  • crab shells
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • grated ginger for serving

Slice a whole piece of ginger and set half aside. Cut up the celery and place in a pan with the crab shells, carrot, onion, garlic, ginger, bayleaves and peppercorns. Bring the stock to a simmer and skim throughout. Let the broth simmer for an hour. Drain the broth through a clean jcloth. Leave it unhurried, clean the pan and add the stock back. Add the remaining sliced ginger and salt to taste. Let simmer for another 15 minutes before adding the Shaoxing rice wine and the agave nectar and simmer for another 15 minutes or until the flavours come together. I did add a little bit of grated ginger before serving to get that extra “hit” of flavour.

 

I set some of the white crab meat aside for serving before making the ravioli filling. This was a starter so I made 5 ravioli each but one crab would have made for a few more and if I had more to feed I would have mixed the crab with a little mashed potatoes.

 

Crab ravioli

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 3 minutes 

serves 2 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • white and brown meat of one good sized crab with a little of the white meat set aside
  • 11 dumpling wrappers (one extra in case one would break)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tbsp chopped coriander
  • cracked black pepper

Mix the filling and taste it. Add black pepper to taste. Place about a tea spoon of filling on to each wrapper. Seal them by dipping your finger in water and run it along the edges.

 

13Dec_CrabFilling

 

Bring salted water to the boil and cook the ravioli. It only takes a couple of minutes and the ravioli are ready when they float to the surface.

 

Place some broth and a hint of grated ginger in the bottom of a deep bowl. Add the ravioli, peas, the remaining white crab meat and boiled quails eggs. The eggs added richness to the broth. Last I drizzledextra virgin olive oil over and added some cress before serving.

 

13Dec_CrabRavioli2

 

Crab and ginger is a great combination, I only added a very small amount of ginger, it didn’t come through enough in the broth and I will add more next time. Save the remaining broth for a soup, you can freeze it if you want to and it is great with mushrooms.

I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday nr 99! That is so impressive and it is ever growing so come and joj  us for any foodie inspiration and if course if you have cooked! It is Friday party time!

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Crab ravioli in a ginger broth”
  1. Ooooh it looks so perfectly made and delicious. Hugs!

  2. chefjulianna says:

    Yikes Petra! I will be dreaming of your raviolis until I can get a chance to make them! Your ginger broth sounds like the perfect accompaniment to the richness of the crab! Drool! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you! I love using the dumpling wrappers as it makes ravioli in no time! The broth was great with the ravioli and lighter than a cream based sauce, even if they are nice too 🙂 x

  3. The picture of your ravioli is lovely – they look so delicate! And I love the sound of both the crab ravioli and ginger broth – both right up my street. Delicious! Thanks for sharing with us at FF!

  4. Love this recipe Petra – crab is a favorite. I use it in crab cakes and wontons but raviolis in this ginger broth sounds extra special 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      Crab is one of my favourites! I just have to buy it when I see it and the ravioli was great mixing the brown and white meat! Am glad you like it 🙂 x

  5. Petra you are an artist in the kitchen my friend. This recipe looks just elegant.

  6. Beautiful and elegant and delicious Petra. You are an artist.

  7. Oh my gosh, that looks so yummy! Might have to try this one at some point!

  8. Ginger says:

    How on Earth did I miss this feast? It sounds – and looks! – delicious!

  9. This looks so beautiful and delicate and I can almost smell the ginger broth. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Personally, I think Sonal’s Paneer Butter Masala looks absolutely amazing, and Petra’s Crab Ravioli is making me crave second lunch at the […]



Leave a Reply

