Steak with truffle honey roasted cauliflower and quiche

I had a bunch of random stuff hanging around the fridge from the holidays. I was left with an almost whole Camembert cheese, celery, cream, a bunch of eggs, fresh herbs and shortcrust pastry. Like so many I decided to take a lighter (read detox) approach to life now in January but I can’t stand waste so I decided to make a leftover dinner. The butcher had some steak that I bought and I couldn’t resist buying a head of cauliflower. The supermarket sold cauliflower heads for £1.50 and the local veg shop sold them for £1.50 for two, what a bargain and incentive to shop local.

 

I took the cheese, cream and pastry and decided to make one last, naughty quiche. I used the ready made pastry but making your own always tastes better and here is a recipe. For the filling I used vegetables and cheese that I had at home, or use what you prefer, and/or have at home, this is a great way to use up left overs and meat or fish would also work.

 

Veg loaded Camembert quiche

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 20 mins for the crust + 45 minutes with the filling

oven 180C or 350F

serves 6

Ingredients

  •  ready made, rolled pie crust

The Filling

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 dl cream
  • 150 gr or 5.2 oz Camembert
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 4 florets of cauliflower
  • 1 red chilli, chopped with seeds in
  • chopped dill
  • 2 portobello mushrooms
  • 2 crushed garlic cloves
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp paprika powder

Place the pastry in a pie dish, prick the base with a fork and bake for 20 minutes. Whilst that is baking make the filling. Remove the beard and skin from the mushrooms and chop them up with the celery. Quarter the cauliflower florets if they are big and cut the cheese into small cubes. Gently whisk the eggs and add the cream and spices. Add in the cheese, vegetables and dill and pour the filling into the baked crust and bake until the filling is firm, about 40-45 minutes. Let the quiche cool slightly before cutting it up.

 

I took the herbs, watercress, coriander/cilantro and dill and made a pesto.

 

Chilli and watercress pesto

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serve 6-8

Ingredients

  • 1 large bunch of watercress
  • 1 bunch of coriander, use stalks as well
  • 1 bunch of dill, use stalks as well
  • 1 chilli, seeds in
  • 1 large, peeled and roughly chopped garlic clove
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup cashew nuts
  • 1/2 dl extra virgin olive oil

Give the herbs a rough chop and place them in a blender with the cashews and the olive oil and blend until smooth. If there is anything left pour a little oil on top and it will keep for a few days in the fridge.

 

02Jan_SauceVerte

 

Truffle honey roasted cauliflower

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 25-30 minutes 

oven 180C or 350F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • about 1 tbsp truffle honey

Cut the florets of the cauliflower and cut the biggest ones in half. Use the stalks and the good looking leaves as well. Place the cauliflower in a plastic bag or a bowl and make sure it is mixed with the salt and the oil. Place the cauliflower on a baking tray and roast until it starts to crisp up.

Drizzle the honey over and roast for another 10 minutes before serving. The cauliflower will go a little brown but this is what you are after, it will have a nice crunch and the truffle honey is a nice addition.

 

02Jan_RoastedCauliflower

 

Pan fry the steak and let it rest for 5-10 minutes before cutting it up against the grain and serving with the quiche, the cauliflower and the pesto.

 

02Jan_SteakDinner

 

This was a skirt steak but not the usual one I get and I have to admit my favourite is the one that looks like a long belt, it seems to have more flavour and I can’t get enough of it. I am glad I didn’t let anything go to waste. The quiche was enough for lunch the following day as well so I was glad I had made it.

I decided to bring this to the Cook Once Eat Twice challenge, hosted by the lovely Corina, Searching for Spice. Corinas blog is one of the first ones I followed and it is full of great posts with easy to cook, full of flavour recipes!

cookonceeattwice-2

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
12 Responses to “Steak with truffle honey roasted cauliflower and quiche”
  1. Corina says:

    What a delicious way to use all those leftovers! I love the sound of that creamy quiche full of camembert and vegetables. I’d love to try your roasted cauliflower too. I didn’t use to like cauliflower but then I discovered that it can be really tasty roasted with a few spices. I haven’t tried it with honey though but that’s definitely something I’ll think about adding next time. Thank you so much for joining in with #CookOnceEatTwice.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      It was the last of the naughty food. I had so much cheese left I had to use it for cooking and oh, it is still so nice isn’t it?
      I have a friend who claims our tastebuds change every 7 years so we should always try things we don’t like, maybe that is what happened? I found myself one day loving celery, something I spent most of my life avoiding.
      Cook Once Eat Twice is a great idea and a perfect way to start the New Year 🙂

  2. Ginger says:

    You are so incredibly creative, Petra! What a feast you magicked out of that fridge …

  3. Brilliant Petra! I can only imagine how wonderful this tasted!

  4. tentimestea says:

    Your dinners always sound amazing Petra… the cauliflower looks so wonderfully crispy and I love that the quiche is full of vegetables! Quiche, steak and cauliflower makes for a fine meal, and a great use of leftovers!

  5. chefjulianna says:

    You are a powerhouse, Petra! Everything you cook has my name written all over it! I think you should just write a cookbook and then I can have all of your recipes at my fingertips, always! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I think we might be foodie twins! I would say the same about your recipes, maybe a project for 2016! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Next was this delightful sounding Truffle Honey Roasted Cauliflower and a Quiche from Food Eat Love. […]



Leave a Reply

