Crab salad with a lime and ginger dressing

As I walked passed the fishmonger the other day I saw a few crab claws. I needed some fish and got a good deal on the crab claws as they were the last ones.  I could eat crab claws every day, even better dipped in melted butter infused with garlic and chilli.

I thought that melted butter might be a little heavy and was looking at my lovely olive oil instead and settled for a salad. I had some gem lettuce and a ripe lime and I decided to keep the salad very simple.

 

The crab claws 10Jan_CrabClaws

 

I cracked the claws and picked the meat. Once picked I went through the meat again to discard any shell.

 

10Jan_CrabMeat

 

I couldn’t help eating some of the claw meat, I like all of the crab but the white meat is my favourite.

 

Crab salad with lime and ginger dressing

preparation time 15 minutes (including picking the claws)

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • baby gem lettuce, cut lenghtways
  • meat from six crab claws
  • about 2 tsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp wholegrain mustard
  • 1 pinch of sea salt
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

To serve

  • Fresh bread like baguette

Mix the lime juice, mustard, honey and grated ginger. Add the olive oil, taste with sea salt. Heat a little oil in a pan and pan fry the lettuce on the cut side down. Place the lettuce on a plate, add the crab meat and drizzle over the dressing and serve with the bread.

 

10Jan_CrabSalad

 

It is a super simple salad but so nice. It is a great starter and ginger and crab is one of my favourite combinations. The whole dish is easy to prepare, all you need to do is pan frying the lettuce last minute.

 

I am bringing a large plate of this to Fiesta Friday, hosted by the lovely Angie who has not only hosted Fiesta Friday more than 100 times, this is in fact Fiesta Friday 102, but there are also more and more joining us every week! This could only be done by someone as lovely and awesome as Angie!

Every week she is also joined by fab co hosts and this week is no exception, have a look at their blogs! Elaine, Foodbod and Julie, Hostess at Heart, thank yo for co hosting! 🙂

FoodFiestaFriday

 

 

 

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Crab salad with a lime and ginger dressing”
  1. Lina says:

    Sounds scrumptious!

  2. Petra I could eat crab everyday as well, and love it dipped in melted butter. This salad doesn’t lack anything either. It sounds delicious! Thank you for sharing with FF!

  3. Angie says:

    Petra, at this very moment I’m baking crab & spinach mac n cheese, and half the crab meat is still sitting on the counter and I was mulling what to do with it! How uncanny of you to come to my rescue! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Crab mac & cheese?! I have to do that! It sounds like absolutely heaven! I did a mac&cheese yesterday and wish I had thought of that! 🙂 Happy Monday! xx

  4. What a fresh and full-flavored salad! Lovely, Petra! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Josette
      Am so glad you like it! I think it might be even nicer in the summer but still nice 🙂 Have a great week!

  5. B B Capryllian says:

    Well done!!!!!

    On Sun, Jan 17, 2016 at 7:22 PM, Food Eat Love wrote:

    > petra08 posted: “As I walked passed the fishmonger the other day I saw a > few crab claws. I needed some fish and got a good deal on the crab claws as > they were the last ones. I could eat crab claws every day, even better > dipped in melted butter infused with garlic and chi” >

  6. I love crab especially the claw meat, it’s my favorite part of crab and lobster. I love the lime and ginger dressing the salad sounds fantastic.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Suzanne
      Thank you! The claw meat is my favourite too and I could eat it most every day! Next time I will add a sprinkle of chilli I think 🙂 happy Monday! x

  7. I love crab as well and this was of serving them sounds delicious!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      am glad you like it! It was such a simple way of making it but it had so much flavour I wanted to share it.
      I hope you are having a great weekend 🙂

  8. Oh wow, this looks amazing! Never tried the ginger-crab combination before but it sounds lovely 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Petra (nice name!)
      Thank you, crab and ginger is a lovely combination, a sprinkle of chilli as well makes it really pop! I hope you will try it.
      Happy Saturday 🙂

Leave a Reply

