Artichoke with a rhubarb vinaigrette

If there is a day of the week that is my favourite it must be Saturdays. This is usually my foodie day. There is a market and I have time to have a walk around to the fishmonger, The Black Pig Butchers, the market stalls, one of them sells the best chicken sausages and I love to have a look at what the green grocers have on offer.

I got some great produce but it was the green grocer’s produce that caught my eye. I saw the first artichoke, it had wonderful purple tones and I just had to buy one.

 

23Jan_Artichoke

 

Walking home with my artichoke I was thinking of how to cook and it what to eat it with. When I was little my mom used to buy an artichoke if it was just the two of us. She would boil it whole and we would dip the meaty end of the leaves in butter and salt. It is absolutely delicious but I wanted something a bit more fresh, and slightly healthier.

 

The other green grocer had the first of the forced rhubarb of the season. Forced rhubarb comes from the “rhubarb triangle” in Yorkshire. Rhubarb is grown in warm, long building in complete darkness. The rhubarb is more delicate than the one grown outdoors. I usually put a big terracotta pot upside down on top of my rhubarb and the first one, grown under the pot is always the most delicious!

 

This rhubarb had a beautiful pink colour and I thought it would be great with the artichoke.

 

Forced rhubarb23Jan_Rhubarb

 

One of my favourite ways to eat rhubarb is in a vinaigrette and the colour of the rhubarb would be spectacular.

 

Rhubarb vinaigrette 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 rhubarb stalk, cut in to fine cubes
  • 1 shallot onion, cut fine
  • 1 lemon, juice and zest
  • 1/2 tsp mustard , I used French mustard as this is all I had at home
  • 1 tsp runny honey
  • sea salt & pepper

Mix the lemon zest, juice, mustard and honey. When smooth mix with the remaining ingredients and taste with a pinch of sea salt and pepper.

 

I boiled the artichoke, it is ready when the bottom leaves comes out easily. I arranged the leaves, removed the “beard” and cut the heart in to cubes before adding the vinaigrette.

 

23Jan_ArtichokeSalad

 

It is a perfect sharing dish, just tuck in, each leaf is full of flavour and the rhubarb vinaigrette adds a great flavour boost. The vinaigrette is also great with fish and smoked meat. I am so happy the rhubarb season has started!

 

I am bringing a big plate of this to share with my friends over at Fiesta Friday! Hosted, as always by the lovely Angie and co hosted by the lovely Mila, Milka and Bun and Hilda, Along the Grapevine Come and join the party!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
18 Responses to “Artichoke with a rhubarb vinaigrette”
  1. That is such a creative post Petra! Loved what you did with both artichoke and rhubarb!

  2. Loretta says:

    Such a stunning and creative display Petra. Love all the ingredients in it too. I don’t use artichokes as much, and I know I should. You’ve given me some ideas in this post. Thanks 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! I love artichoke but I don’t eat them as often as I should either! This was a nice and lean way to eat it and I could easily have eaten a whole one by myself. I need to plant some for the summer!Enjoy the weekend 🙂

  3. milkandbun says:

    Wow! It’s an art!!! Looks gorgeous!!! Never ever thought that rhubarb goes well with artichokes. I think you need to open worldwide delivery for such unusual dishes 😉

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mila
      You are so sweet, a world wide delivery 🙂 That is a thought! I wasn’t sure they would go together either but they did, I did test one leaf before plating! I hope your weekend is good!

  4. I have exactly the same memories of eating artichoke as a child! I don’t think I’ve eaten one since then to be honest…yours looks stunning 😉

    • petra08 says:

      hi Elaine
      it takes a while to cook the artichokes and they are a little fiddly. I don’t eat them often but I will plant some for this summer. I love the nutty flavour it has, perhaps this is the year when we should eat more artichoke 🙂 x

  5. Jhuls says:

    What a wonderful, wonderful post, Petra. I don’t eat much artichoke and I don’t know why. Your recipe sounds fantastic and your photos are stunning! Happy FF104! x

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jhuls
      Thank you so much! I am glad you like the photo! I think I will eat more artichoke this year, I don’t have it very often either and it is such a lovely vegetable 🙂 Happy FF and I hope you are having a good weekend 🙂

  6. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, your dish looks like a piece of artwork, Petra! And I am so excited about your rhubarb vinaigrette recipe! I always have gifted rhubarb every summer and I never know what to do with it! I will bookmark your recipe and use it this summer! Thanks so much! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you so much! I am glad you like it! You don’t need a lot of rhubarb for it but will get lots of flavour! It is nice with fish and I once did it with smoked duck.
      Have a great week ahead 🙂

  7. Gorgeous fresh and delicious. I’m in love with your rhubarb vinaigrette. I love artichokes and must try this. Have not seen forced rhubarb here may have to wait to make it until it’s in season though.

  8. Maggie says:

    How creative! I only ever had artichoke on pizza or as part of an antipasto platter so I really want to try it out for myself!

Leave a Reply

