Squid ink and black garlic tapioca risotto

The fishmonger had squid ink in little sachets and ever since I spotted them I have been thinking of what to make. Black can be a bit of a strange colour for food but I thought a risotto might be nice.

I didn’t have a recipe so this would be a bit experimental. My other purchase was black garlic, an Asian delicacy. The garlic is slowly caramelised and it is full of a mellow, balsamic like flavour.

 

Black garlic bulb 31Jan_BlackGarlicBulb

 

Black garlic clove 31Jan_BlackGarlicClove

 

Black garlic and squid ink tapioca risotto

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes 

serves 2 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • 1 sachet of squid ink
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup tapioca
  • 3 1/2 dl or 1 3/4 cup lighter coconut milk
  • 4 cloves of black garlic
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 shallots, chopped fine
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup chopped coriander
  • salt and pepper to taste

Melt the coconut oil in a pan and gently fry the onion soft. Add the tapioca and a little bit of the coconut milk. Sir the whole time and add the coconut milk a little at the time.

When the tapioca is almost cooked through add the squid ink and taste to see if more salt and pepper is needed. Tapioca itself has very little flavour and it soaks up other flavours beautifully.

Just before serving add the coriander and taste a final time.

 

I had some flash fried prawns and nashi pear to go with the risotto. The nashi pear added a slight tartness and added a nice bite.

 

31Jan_Risotto2

 

Tapioca risotto is lighter than a rice based risotto and I loved the flavour and texture. I will get some more squid ink and cook it again, it was a successful experiment!

 

I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday,  hosted by the lovely Angie and co hosted by super talented Julianna, Foodie on Board and Lily, The Little Sweet Baker. Lily is treating us to a triple chocolate shadow cake that looks like the ultimate chocolate treat!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
27 Responses to “Squid ink and black garlic tapioca risotto”
  1. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx💜xoxo

  2. Jhuls says:

    Such an interesting dish, Petra. I still haven’t gotten my hands on black garlic. I always wonder how they taste. Your dish looks good, by the way. 🙂 Happy FF! x

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      The first time I bought black garlic I bought it online and then I discovered that one of the big supermarkets sold them! That was a good moment 🙂
      It tastes a bit like the mellowness of roasted garlic with an aged balsamic vinegar. I am not sure I am making a good job here but it is well worth trying! I did grind the garlic with olive oil and got so much extra flavour out! 🙂 Happy Fiesta Friday and I hope you are enjoying the weekend! 🙂

  3. Hilda says:

    Combining black garlic and squid ink is a great idea. I still have black garlic in my fridge (I use it sparingly) but alas no squid ink, but if I ever get my hands on some, I will make this. Your recipes always inspire me Petra.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      Thank you. I don’t use black garlic very often but this was a great way and it really highlighted the flavour. I have never seen squid ink before and I just had to buy some! :)I hope you are having a good weekend. Happy FF! 🙂

  4. milkandbun says:

    Another unusual recipe, Petra! Looks interesting! 🙂

  5. Wow! What a fabulous colour!!

  6. Lily says:

    What an exotic looking dish. I’ve never heard of black garlic before, but I’m really interested in trying it. Thanks for sharing and happy FF!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Lily
      Black garlic is a great ingredient.The flavour is quite unique but with a mellow hint of garlic. You might be able to buy it online. I hope you find it and try it. 🙂

  7. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, you have taken me to a place I have never been before, Petra! I have never tried squid ink or black garlic, and I am completely intrigued! I am always up for something new, so I am diving in with my fork! Thanks so much for sharing with us! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you so much. Squid ink doesn’t really taste of much but it is really potent in colour. I hope you find some and can try both black garlic and squid ink! 🙂 Happy FF and weekend! 🙂

  8. Thats incredible Petra. You are so talented.

  9. You have some of the most incredibly creative dishes that sound delicious, and this is another. Looks great!

  10. tentimestea says:

    So creative and so visually stunning Petra! I love how the tapioca look like little eggs or roe.

    • petra08 says:

      I haven’t thought about that but you are right! I love tapioca risotto, it is lighter than rice and the tapioca soaks up flavours so well 🙂

  11. I’ve had squid ink pasta in Italy and can only imagine how wonderful this risotto was!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      That is a lovely comment! Thank you so much. I like rice risotto as well but I find that tapioca makes for a lighter risotto and there is no need for cheese so I imagine it might be a little bit healthier. 🙂

  12. Suchitra says:

    I never knew that black Garlic existed or that you could buy squid ink!! Very interesting risotto. Would have loved to taste it.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suchitra
      I think you would love black garlic. It has a mellow garlic flavour and even small amount will add a lot of flavour. I hope you find it as it has a unique favour. 🙂

Leave a Reply

