Brilliant savarin and Bramley apple cheesecake

The first time I came across cheese cake was when I was seventeen and went to the USA. I don’t know why I had never come across this before but my love of cheese and not very sweet tooth loved this cake. The first one I tried was a classic with cherry jam and a digestive biscuit base and it was love at first bite.

The other day I went to dinner at The Ninth on Charlotte Street in London. They had a Brilliant Savarin cheesecake and how could I resist that. Brilliant Savarin is a wonderful cheese. Brillat-Savarin is a triple cream dessert cheese that was created by cheese-maker Henri Androuët in the 1930s. When unripe it is almost tasteless and when ripe it is one of the most amazing cheeses ever made by man.

Brilliant savarin cheesecake at The Ninth.

05Feb_BrilliantSavarinCheeseCake

 

I was so impressed by the cheesecake the next day I went and bought some Brilliant Savarin so I could make my own version.

Just a couple of days before I received an invite to participate in a Bramley apple cooking competition and I thought that Brilliant Savarin and apple would make a nice combination.

Bramley apples have a nice tartness, Too tart for me to eat as they are but delicious cooked and so versatile.

Bramley apple

07Feb_BramleyApple

 

Brilliant Savarin and Bramley apple cheesecake

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes – it needs to rest for at least 4 hours, over night if possble

serves 6-8

Ingredients

The base

  • 200 gr or 7 oz bisquits, I used a waffle biscuit as a base as they are light and have a slight caramel note
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup toasted, halved, hazelnuts
  • 75 gr unsalted butter

The filling

  • 230 gr or 8.10 oz Brilliant Savarin, no rind
  • 2 dl or 1 cup double cream
  • 1 tbsp condensed milk
  • 3/4 peeled and grated Bramley Apple

The Garnish, apple butter

  • 1 1/2 Bramley apple
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tbsp sugar (more if you want it sweeter)
  • a few dried apple slices

Break up the biscuits and place them, the halved hazelnuts and the sea salt in the blender.

 

07Feb_CheesecakeBase

 

Melt the butter and let cool. Mix with the biscuit base and place in a baking tin with a loose base. Place in the fridge whilst making the filling.

 

I got my kitchen aid out and whisked the cream and the cheese. I added the condensed milk, I only wanted a hint of sweetness. I whisked the mixture again and last I added the grated apple.

Add the filling on to the biscuit base, cover with cling film and place in the fridge, over night if possible to set.

I made some apple butter for the topping. Core, peel and cube the apple and place in a pan pan with the sugar and water.

 

07Feb_AppleButter

 

Let boil on low heat until the apples are soft. Place everything in a blender and blend until smooth. Add back to the pan and cook for another hour or two. The butter is ready when it stops “seeping”, no water is coming out. Taste and see if you want to add more sugar before cooling it. If you want to make a larger batch and place some apple butter in cleaned, hot, sterilised jars.

 

When the cheese cake is set spread the apple butter on top and last garnish with the apple crisps.

 

07Feb_Cheesecake2

 

07Feb_Cheesecake1

 

I haven’t been inspired to make something I ate in a restaurant in a very long time but Chef Jun Tanaka‘s cheesecake was too delicious not to at least try to make.

Apple and cheese is a great combination and this cheesecake is so indulgent, rich but still light with fresh apple flavours running through.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Brilliant savarin and Bramley apple cheesecake”
  1. Loretta says:

    How beautiful Petra~ I can only imagine what this gorgeous cheesecake would taste like after reading all the wonderful ingredients.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you. The cheese flavour really came through and the apple added texture and acidity. 🙂 Have a great week!

  2. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  3. petra08 says:

    Thank you for including my Brilliant Savarin and apple cheesecake in this lovely round up! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] at Simply Recipes posts apple carrot cupcakes, and Petra from Food Eat Love has this brilliant savarin and bramley apple cheesecake, (I now you can’t get Bramley Apples in California, but you can use Granny Smith’s […]



Leave a Reply

