Quick cured, pan fried cod with sauce verte

Sometimes I find an ingredient and I know I want to cook something with it. I came across this lettuce and I knew I had to make something. It was nestled amongst some half wilted specimens so I could only get one and it was too tempting to leave behind.

 

07Feb_RedLettuce

 

I wanted to make a salad and after some thinking I came across some some very nice looking cod.

 

07Feb_Cod

 

I wanted some watercress but came across land cress instead. It looks pretty much the same and it has the same nice peppery bite as watercress.

 

Land cress sauce verte

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 6

Ingredients

  • 2 good handfuls of land or water cress
  • 1 good handful rough chopped coriander
  • 1 1/2 tsp capers
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp crushed pepper
  • 1/2 dl extra virgin olive oil

 

07Feb_SauceVerteIngredients

 

Blend the ingredients, add more oil if needed.

 

07Feb_SauceVerte

 

I removed the pin bones from the cod and salted it over night. It firmed up the fish beautifully.

 

Quick cured, pan fried cod 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes 

oven 170C or 340F

serves 3 as a starter

Ingredients

  • 500 gr or 17.6 oz of cod loin, bones removes

The cure, inspired by Chef steps

  • 1.1 litre or 5 1/2 cups of water
  • 150 gr or 5.3 oz salt
  • 110 gr or 3.9 oz sugar

Dissolve the salt and sugar in the water and let cool. Cut the fish in to 3 pieces and cure for 5 minutes.

Pat dry with paper and pan fry, skin side down for 4 minutes, turn and place the pan in the oven for about another 6 minutes or until the fish is slightly firm to touch.

 

Plate up leaves, golden enoki mushrooms, radish and the sauce verte.

 

07Feb_salad1

 

07Feb_Salad2

 

Add the cod just before serving.

 

07Feb_CodSalad

 

Serve with more sauce verte on the side. I served it as a starter and it was light, the cod was very firm and the leaves tasted as good as they looked.

 

I am bringing a plateful of this cod salad to Fiesta Friday, the 106th party! Hosted by the lovely and talented Angie. Co hosted by Andrea, Cooking With a Wallflower who always brings great dishes and the amazing Steffi, Ginger & Bread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
32 Responses to “Quick cured, pan fried cod with sauce verte”
  1. Ahila says:

    Beautiful presentation! Happy Fiesta!

  2. Jenny says:

    This looks beautiful! You always make such interesting things with fish. I am inspired!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jenny
      Thank you!
      I have to say all the seafood is much down to the fishmonger and very fresh fish available and I can never resist it. Happy weekend 🙂

  3. Loretta says:

    Another delicious fish presentation, love it all 🙂

  4. Hilda says:

    The entire dish looks beautiful. Your quick cure method is very interesting. I will have to give this a try.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda
      Thank you!
      The original recipe was for sliced fish but it worked for chunks as well. If you want the fish less salty just add salt for a couple of hours and not over night. 🙂

  5. What a beautiful dish Petra! The color of that lettuce is so vibrant and I can imagine that the cod was just perfectly cooked and delicious.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you 🙂
      I couldn’t resist the lettuce, it was in a box towards the back with other but half wilted lettuce heads and this was the best one. The colour caught my eye and it was just delicious as well as photogenic! I am glad you like it 🙂

  6. Such a beautiful presentation!!

  7. Your presentation is always so beautiful – those salad leaves look so pretty. And I love salsa verde, as this seems an adaptation of.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      It is a version of a salsa verde but as it was a bit far off I wasn’t quite sure if it was appropriate to call it that 🙂
      I am glad you like it. I loved the colour of the lettuce and will see if I can find some seeds for the summer 🙂 Happy weekend!

  8. Ginger says:

    Your fish recipes, as always, leave me absolutely speechless! How delicious! How ingenious! I will have to try such a quick cure someday soon. 🙂
    Thank you so much for bringing this along to our Fiesta Friday 106!
    Ginger x

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Ginger
      It was a really interesting way to cure, you got a hint of the cure. The fish was fresh so I didn’t try it (I always freeze fish before curing it for 48 hours if not cooking it further) and the original recipe calls for sliced fish and only a 3 minute cure! I think the fish only need a couple of hours salting beforehand but it was lovely.
      I am glad you like it 🙂 I hope your week is good! x

  9. all-TIM-ate says:

    looks so good… beautiful presentation

  10. This looks really delicious! Thanks for bringing it to FF!

  11. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx💚xoxo

  12. tentimestea says:

    Such a gorgeous presentation Petra! The leaves are really so pretty and make the perfect bed for the fish. The quick cure sounds very interesting as well, and very very quick!

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you, I am so glad you like it. The cure was very interesting, I hadn’t heard of any cure so quick before but well worth a try! next time I will freeze the fish for 48 hours beforehand and taste the cured fish 🙂 Have a great week!

  13. Corina says:

    It looks absolutely beautiful, as with all your recipes! I love the sound of the land cress sauce.

  14. Linnea says:

    Hey there! I just wanted to say that the Cod looks delicious. I made cod yesterday, but next time I need to try this.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Linnea
      this was so easy, I would salt the cod for just a couple of hours but the brine added another flavour dimension. I hope you like it 🙂

  15. petra08 says:

    hi Jack
    Thank you for the mention! Glad you like it 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Petra at Food Eat Love we have a very quick, very easy, and very interesting dish; quick cured,pan fried cod with sauce verte.   Really, this is a 20 minute recipe you could serve as a starter or a light meal.  I love the […]



Leave a Reply

