Scallop with kumaquat marmalade

It is scallop season, can you tell? No matter what I go to the fishmongers for I can never resist fresh, local scallops. They are caught in the bay nearby and smooth like butter.

I even get out of bed early on Saturdays as he sells out quickly. This Saturday I had guests coming for dinner and I had told myself I wasn’t going to make a starter but I was fairly sure a scallop would be more like an amuse bouche than an actual starter.

I wanted to create a new scallop recipe and as it was Saturday I had time to go to the shops and look for interesting ingredients. One of the green grocers sell a lot of local produce so it is easy to get what is in season but every now and then I can find something a little bit more unusual. This week I couldn’t resists some kumquats.

 

Kumquats 20Feb_Kuamquats

 

I also stop at the butcher for meat, the bakery for some fresh bread and end up in my favourite coffee shop for a catch up on what I might have missed during the week.

 

I looked at the kumquats and thought they would be nice with the scallops. You can eat the whole fruit except the pips and a nice marmalade/glaze would go down well, some for my sourdough toast and some to go with the scallops.

 

Kumquat marmalade

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 20 minutes

makes 1 small jar

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of kuamquats
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup golden caster sugar
  • a good pinch of thyme

Slice the kumaquats thinly and remove the pips. Place the ingredients in a pan and bring to a boil and leave it to boil until the liquid starts to reduce and get a syrup like consistency.

 

20Feb_Boiling?

 

I only made a small batch and ate it almost straight away but if you make a bigger batch put the marmalade in warm sterilized jars and keep in the fridge once opened.

 

I saw some Jerusalem artichokes in the market.

 

20Feb_JerusalemArtichoke

 

If you haven’t tasted them before, they are delicious. The first time I tasted them was years ago when I first lived on my own. There was a lovely couple at the local market who made it their mission to educate me on all things fruit and veg. One day the lady had made a soup that she let me try. It was absolutely delicious and it was made from Jerusalem artichokes.

I decided to be a bit naughty and just add butter and the merest hint of salt to bring out the flavour, it is so delicate and absolutely delicious.

 

Jerusalem artichoke purée

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 10-15 minutes or until the Jerusalem artichokes are soft

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 5 large Jerusalem artichokes
  • 10 gr or 0.35 oz salted butter
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice

Mix the water and vinegar or lemon first. Peel the Jerusalem artichokes and place them in the acidulated water so they will remain white.

Rinse them before boiling until soft and then drain and place in a blender with butter and blend until it is smooth. I wanted it to be super smooth so I passed the purée through a sieve.

 

I had some brown shrimp, they are a bit time consuming as they are so tiny but they taste great and it is worth the effort to peel them.

 

I pan fried the scallop and served it with the brown shrimp, the Jerusalem artichoke purée and the kumquat marmalade for that citrus punch. I had bought some plums, they looked so pretty but was quite hard and acidic so not too nice to eat as they were but a perfect addition to the soft, buttery scallop.

 

20Feb_Scallop&BrownShrimp_close

 

20Feb_Scallop&BrownShrimp

 

The purée was such a hit I had to bring the rest out and serve on the side and it was a perfect, small starter or an amuse bouche.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “Scallop with kumaquat marmalade”
  1. Cally says:

    Wow, looks so tasty and the presentation is spectacular. I really am going to try to get my dishes to look this great. Take care Cally.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Cally
      It was only peeling the tiny brown shrimp that was a bit fiddly but the rest was quite quick! I am glad you like it and thank you for stopping by. Have a great week 🙂

      • Cally says:

        I will let you know how it turns out. My sons will love the look and touching the shrimps . We made sushi today and my sons really liked that it was such tactile preparation. Take care Cally.

      • petra08 says:

        Sushi is such a social thing to do isn’t it? And delicious as well! 🙂

  2. Ginger says:

    It sounds amazing! What an intriguing combination – as always, your recipes are a pleasure to read 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Steffi
      Thank you! I thought citrus/seafood and then decided to make a marmalade to glaze the scallops. I was worries it might be a little too sweet bit it worked and the Jerusalem artichoke brought it all together! I hope your week is good! 🙂

  3. Wow! Are you a professional chef??

  4. Sinfully Tempting says:

    The photos alone look good enough to eat! I love this recipe, sounds delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

