Blues, cocktails and amazing food in London

It is now almost on the day two years since we moved out of London and down to the coast. It has been a brilliant move, the air is clean, the sea is ever changing and it is the most friendly place I have ever lived. When we first moved I spent as little time as I could in London and it is not until now I feel ready for London again. I was in fact so ready it was time for a London mini break!

 

One of the things I miss the most about London is the food. No matter what you are in the mood for you can get it and it will be great and the objectives for the weekend was to eat great food and have fun.

I have followed chef Jun Tanaka for a few years and I have always wanted to eat his food but it never happened, until now. His restaurant, The Ninth opened about four months ago and I couldn’t wait to go. This weekend was a perfect time and it was even better than what I thought it would be.

The restaurant is lovely, the interior is contemporary and I secretly want wine racks like these at home.

 

Inside The Ninth 05Feb_TheNinth

 

It was sadly a bit too dark for me to get some pictures that made the food justice but it was so delicious I have to mention it. There wasn’t a single dish I wouldn’t like to eat again, and again!

 

The salted beef cheeks just melted on my tongue.

05Feb_BeefCheek

 

The lamb en croute was cooked to absolute perfection.

05Feb_Lamb

Of all the dishes we ate, don’t miss this foodie happiness in the shape of a beetroot tarte tatin, simply genius.

05Feb_BeetrootTarteTatin

 

Chef Tanaka, what an amazing restaurant and I will be back!

Having finished out meal we piled in to a cab and headed for the next destination. It doesn’t look like much from the outside.

 

05Feb_NightjarEntrance

 

This humble door hides one of London’s best nightclubs, Nightjar. I booked it for the music, the FoBo Jug Band and check out their cocktail list!

 

The FoBo Jug Band 05Feb_FoboJugBand

 

Cocktails 05Feb_Flaming_Cocktail

 

05Feb-DikiDikiCocktail

 

05Feb_MarmaladeCocktail

 

After a brilliant evening it was time to head back to the hotel for a good nights sleep.

I am not usually a breakfast person but when I stay in an hotel I just can’t resist it.

 

Hotel breakfast 05Feb_HotelBreakfast

 

It was a day out and no rush but eventually we emerged in the real world and headed for some shops before stopping at Borough Market, the best market in London but also very expensive and it is way too easy to spend a lot of money in a very short period of time on foods that are too good not to bring home. I bought some salami, cheese, a whole, smoked chicken and some vegetables I would never get at home.

 

The food shopping made us hungry so we popped in to Brindisa for some tapas and my favourite there is always their huevos rancheros, deep fried potato discs with a tomato sauce and a broken egg on top. It hits the spot every time.

 

05Feb_HuevosRotos

 

There was no more room for food but it didn’t stop me from a little window shopping admiring some seriously good looking pastry.

 

05Feb_CakeWindowShopping

 

It was an amazing 24 hours, fantastic food, lots of spectacular cocktails, live blues and that great feeling of a proper mini break in lovely London.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
14 Responses to “Blues, cocktails and amazing food in London”
  1. Wow, looks like a gorgeous restaurant and an incredible dinner. Each dish really looks and sounds wonderful.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      the food was absolutely amazing and even better than I thought! It was a delicious surprise 🙂

  2. Loretta says:

    Fabulous Petra, it looks simply amazing! London, like New York, has so much to offer both in the culinary arts and also culturally. I lived in London eons ago and still recall some of those times. I usually return to England each year to visit my family – I try to visit London when I can. This year will be no exception. Great weekend for you I’m sure.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      When you come to London next time this is a find! I agree New York is lovely as well and full of hidden gems if you just know where to go! If you have any time at all when you come even for a coffee let me know! I hope your week is good 🙂

      • Loretta says:

        Aww, that’s ever so sweet of you Petra, thanks… I shall remember that! But you don’t live anywhere near London do you? I will be in England again in July visiting my family, mainly in Southampton, and then we’re off to Portugal for 8 days. I’ll keep you posted if I do. Thank you.

      • petra08 says:

        hi Loretta
        I live in Kent, near Dover (we can see France across the channel). I work in London, not every day but I can always change the days I go up! Portugal sounds lovely 🙂

  3. Wonderful! Looks like you packed lots in! Having stopped working in London several years ago and now living in the countryside, I also like to be able to visit the city, but I also like to be able to leave it again!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Elaine
      You are absolutely right. London is a wonderful city with so much to offer but it is lovely to step off the train at home, take a breath of fresh air and just chill out. I am not sure what it is about London, I get so annoyed with myself but can’t stop running for the tube and I know the next one comes in another minute! 🙂

      • Ha ha! Old habits die hard??
        I always feel that’s there’s an energy in the air when I get off the train at Euston, there’s a real buzz being in London. Which probably also adds to why I am usually so exhausted on the train home!

  4. heenie says:

    Mmmm fabulous food… Thank you for making us drool 😉

  5. Keith Trawick says:

    FABULOUS!!!!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Keith
      I hope the new year got off to a good start! It was a lovely mini break and something different 🙂

Leave a Reply

