Guaccamole salad

Guacamole Salad

We have a constant discussion about pizza in our household. We both like it but it isn’t something that I would eat too often whilst M would happily eat it, I believe at least six days a week.

This wasn’t even something to think about as the availability (or lack of) made it almost impossible. It would involve getting in the car, drive, park and no beer. Luckily a pub nearby got a pizza oven, it is big and comes all the way from Italy and they make the best pizzas. Thin, crispy crust and filled with oozy toppings. My favourite is the chorizo pizza, extra garlic and a side salad. This if perfect Friday night food for me and a great way to start the weekend.

 

Wood fire pizza oven at The Hoy.

Wood fire pizza oven

 

Chorizo pizza Chorizo pizza

 

The weekend just gone was no exception and I felt a little bit guilty as pizza is so rich and so I thought a salad would be nice.

 

I went to the shops as I felt that I needed some avocado and the fridge was quite empty after a week of not being at home very much. I almost immediately spotted some micro herbs at the back of the veg shop and purple radish sprouts caught my attention. The colour is beautiful and they looked quite irresistible.

 

Purple radish sprouts Purple radish cress

 

I decided to build a salad around them and got some tomatoes and an avocado. When I took all of the ingredients out and added what else I thought would be nice I realised I had all of the ingredients for a guacamole, with the exception of the purple sprouting radish.

 

Rather than mashing it all together I took the somewhat fiddly route and decided to work on my food presenting skills.

 

Guaccamole Salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • 1 avocado, 1/2 per person
  • Microleaves, if using (corainder/cilantro) works as well
  • 4 cherry tomatoes
  • 2 cloves of black garlic
  • 1 fresh garlic clove
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • a sprinkle of citrus (or balsamic) vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp crushed chilli
  • a pinch of sea salt

Cut the avocado in half and peel it. Place the avocado on a plate and drizzle over some olive oil and vinegar. Add the micro leaves (if using, or sprinkle over coriander). Chop the cherry tomatoes quite fine along with the black garlic. Thinly slice the garlic.

Plate everything up and sprinkle over the chilli and sea salt before serving.

 

SalsaSalad

06March_SalasaSalad_Side

 

It had the taste of guaccamole and it was a good salad. The addition of black garlic with it’s balsamic notes worked very well.  There was no need for a dressing and I felt that it was a good balance to outweigh the pizza the night before but it won’t stop me from having more pizza!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Guaccamole salad”
  1. That is the prettiest salad EVER!!

  2. Loretta says:

    So beautiful Petra, I’d feel the same way had I gorged on pizza the day before :). Your salad looks so colorful and delicious.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you. I can’t resist these pizzas so I think there will be a lot of salads on weekends! 🙂

  3. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

Leave a Reply

