Scallop with mango and spring onion salsa

Scallop with mango and spring onion salsa

Can you believe it, yet another scallop recipe?! The thing is the scallops I buy are caught locally and sooooo fresh I just have to buy them when I see them, perhaps I am developing a mild “must buy scallos ocd”. Just a thought.

They are so delicious to pair up with different flavours and I can’t seem to stop experimenting. Today a mango that needed eating caught my eye and I thought it would be nice with the scallops I had just bought.

I had some herbs and decided to make a salsa, something fresh with the buttery scallop seemed like a good match.

 

Mango and spring onion salsa

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes

serves 2 as a starter

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Mango, peeled and cut in to small cubed
  • 3 spring onions/scallions, sliced thinly
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lemon
  • a small handful of coriander, chopped
  • a pinch of crushed chilli
  • about 1 tbsp olive oil
  • a pinch of sea salt

Mix all of the above ingredients and taste with sea salt and chilli. Let the salsa stand for an hour if you have time for the flavours to come together.

 

Clean the scallops and pan fry in butter with a little salt. They take about three minutes to cook. Turn the pan off and plate up the salsa.

 

Mango and spring onion salsa

 

Slice the scallops in half and place on top of the salsa. Drizzle the scallops lightly with some very good extra virgin olive oil and serve.

 

Scallop with mango and spring onion salsa

 

scallop with mango and spring onion salsa

 

I like scallops served in different ways but the refreshing salsa worked very well. This salsa is a keeper and I can’t wait to try it again with fish or meat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Scallop with mango and spring onion salsa”
  1. wow.. these look absolutely gorgeous… I want to dig into it right now

  2. Tania says:

    The colours in this look amazing and it sounds tasty too

  3. Loretta says:

    They sound so good together, also love mango salsas 🙂

  4. More wonderfully pretty food!

  5. Anika J says:

    Wow!!!! You are quite the chef! I am going to try these. Was wondering what to do with scallops and my hubby loves mango. Keep up the great work!
    Xo

    • petra08 says:

      hi Anika
      Thank you for stopping by and your very kind comment! I am glad you like it,. I have tried it a few times and everyone seems to like it so I hope you and hubby will too! 🙂 x

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Petra at Food Eat Love I offer you this scallop with mango and spring onion salsa recipe.  Scallops are so fast and easy to cook, and is there any better […]



Leave a Reply

