Lamb croquettes with tomato and chipotle sauce

Lamb croquette

Do you ever question your own sanity? I have just had a bit of a manic week, in fact so busy I haven’t taken a single picture of food and this is highly unusual. The other day was St Patrick’s day and I figured it was a great excuse to go out and celebrate. I was so good I celebrated until the pub closed. I felt very merry indeed, walked home and slept like a baby. The problem was that there are not enough hours in the night and the alarm went off after only four and a half hours sleep. I don’t know how many hours per night you sleep but I do like around six hours and getting up and ready for work was hard work. As I was waiting for the train, feeling slightly worse for wear and up for what I knew would be a very busy day I was questioning my own sanity. The train arrived and after a good snooze I felt like a new person, sometimes commuting can be a good thing.

 

As the week whizzed by it wasn’t until I was on the train home I actually had time to think about cooking. The other week I did a roast shoulder of lamb. It was so lovely I didn’t have the heart to throw even the last little bit out. I put the tiny amount of left overs in the freezer to use up later. On the train home I remembered the lamb and decided to make croquettes. I would never go to a Spanish restaurant and not order croquettes and for some reason I have never made them myself. No croquettes are complete without something to dip them in and I made a spicy tomato and chipotle sauce to go with them.

 

I love chipotle chiles, they can be quite mild cut and cooked in chunks or they can deliver a nice hot kick if chopped or ground fine.

 

chipotle chile

 

Tomato and chipotle sauce 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 1 1/2 hr

oven 160C or 320F

serves 5-6

Ingredients

  • 12 tomatoes, quatered and stalk removed
  • 6-8 garlic cloves, in their skin
  • olive oil
  • 2 ground chipotle chiles
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt flakes
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp demerara sugar

Place the tomatoes and garlic coves in an oven proof dish and sprinkle over the oil, sugar, chipotle chile, salt and pepper.

 

12March_Tomatoes

 

Roast the tomatoes until they are slightly caramelised and they will smell lovely.

 

12March_RoastedTomatoes

 

Remove the skin of the garlic and place the garlic cloves and tomatoes in a blender. Blend until smooth and taste with salt and pepper if needed. Let the sauce cool whilst making the croquettes.

 

Lamb croquettes

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

serves 6 as part of a tapas spread

Ingredients

  • 3 heaped tbsp flour
  • 15 gr or 0.17 oz butter
  • 3 dl or 1 1/2 cup of whole milk
  • 3 tbsp fine chopped, cooked lamb
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 large egg
  • dried bredcrumbs
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • oil for cooking, I used grapeseed oil

Melt the butter and add the flour to make a roux. Let it cook out and add the milk, a little at the time and then the salt. Let it cook for 8-10 minutes and mix in the chopped lamb. Stir throughout and let cool.

Mix the dried breadcrumbs with the smoked paprika and whisk the egg. Shape the croquettes and dip them in egg and then roll them in the breadcrumbs.

Heat up the oil and and fry the croquettes until they are crispy and cooked through. Drain and serve them with the tomato and chipotle sauce.

 

Lamb croquette

 

I was amazed how easy it is to make croquettes. The lamb worked really well and the chipotle and smoked paprika added a nice hot and smokey note.

 

I am bringing a whole batch of these to celebrate the sunny weekend with my Fiesta Friday friends. Fiesta Friday is hosted by the always lovely Angie and this week the party is co hosted by  Naina @ Spice in the City and Julianna @ Foodie On Board. Two amazingly talented cooks and bloggers, I have to be careful when I read their blogs as they always make me so darn hungry!

I am also adding this to Corinas brilliant Cook Once East Twice as I did a whole new meal with a minimalistic amount of left overs!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
12 Responses to “Lamb croquettes with tomato and chipotle sauce”
  1. Corina says:

    I also can’t go to a Spanish restaurant without ordering croquettes! I love the ones like this that are made properly using a roux. A couple of time I’ve been really disappointed when the croquettes have been made with potato like English ones. The sauce sound really good too – It’s definitely a meal I’d love to make.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Corina
      Thank you! I know I have had the potato ones as well and they are not the same. The little bit of lamb went a long way in flavour, perfect for when there isn’t enough for even a sandwich! 🙂

  2. chefconnie says:

    Amazing and beautiful..must try.

  3. chefjulianna says:

    Well, this is a brilliant idea for using up leftovers!! I am going to remember your recipe, Petra, and try it myself! Glad to hear that I am not the only one who can’t find enough hours in the day or night! 😉 Happy Fiesta Friday to you! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      It worked a treat with a tiny amount of left overs!
      Thank you for co hosting! Last week did absolutely not have enough hours and I am not sure this coming one will either 🙂 but better busy than not! Have a great week ahead x

  4. I love the sauce 🙂 very useful!

  5. Oooh I like how we get two recipes in one! Always wanted to make a chipotle sauce! I plan on making a ton of these and having them with pitta for lunch at work the next day 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] love Spanish style croquettes and these Lamb Croquettes with Chipotle Sauce by Food Eat Love sound absolutely […]



Leave a Reply

