Seafood with avocado and ginger salsa

Seafood with avocado and ginger salsa

Sometimes a dish starts with an ingredient. A while back I bought pickled ginger, the kind you eat with sushi. The bag has been sitting in my fridge and I really wanted to eat it but needed something for it to go with.

A trip to the fishmonger sorted me out. I had cod in mind but came away with some scallops caught earlier that morning, some cod and a mackerel. It would be perfect for a light lunch.

 

The scallops comes on the shell and I now have so many I have started to put them in the front garden where I keep all the sea shells I pick on the beach.

 

scallop

 

Once home I started with the seafood. I rinsed and cleaned the scallops.

 

scallops

 

I pin boned, trimmed and salted the fish. The mackerel had roe in it so I rinsed it and patted it dry.

 

mackerel fillets cod fillets

 

I wanted something light to go with the fish and thought a salsa would be nice. Someone mentioned avocado and scallops so I did an avocado based salsa.

 

Avocado and pickled ginger salsa 

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe avocado
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • a small handful of coriander leaves, chopped
  • 1/4 red pepper, de seeded and cut in fine cubes
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and sliced thinly
  • 2-3 tbsp sliced pickled ginger
  • a pinch of sea salt

Cube the avocado and mix with all of the ingredients, last taste with salt and set aside until you are ready to serve.

 

Rinse the fish and pat it dry. Place coconut oil in a pan and fry the fish and the scallops. Plate up and serve with radishes.

 

Seafood with avocado and ginger salsa

 

Seafood is incredibly filling but still light and I served this on one plate and with two forks and knives as a sharing platter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Seafood with avocado and ginger salsa”
  1. Nancy says:

    Looks so yummy, Petra… beautiful presentation too!

  2. Loretta says:

    Oh just up my alley Petra, fish, fish and more fish, that’s me! Your fishmonger must love you 🙂 It all looks so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

