Crab and avocado roll in lobster and crab broth

crab and avocado roll in crab and lobster broth

Of all the seafood crab is one of my absolute favourites. I have seen fresh crabs for sale for a few weeks but today was the first day I have seen quite a few. I got so sidetracked I didn’t even get any scallops.

 

A few years ago I went to a restaurant called Restaurant Martin Wishart in Leith in Edinburgh. Chef Martin Wishart was awarded a Michelin star in 2001. The food was absolutely amazing, I still remember I had a coq au vin, very delicious but why I remember it was for the amazing flavours. It was like each ingredient had been injected with flavour, a carrot didn’t just taste like a carrot, it was deliciously carroty and it was the same with each ingredient. I have no idea how this is done but if you are in Edinburgh, don’t miss a visit to one of his restaurants.

I found a recipe  by Martin Wishart, crab roulade and avocado mousse and I used this as inspiration for my crab.

 

fresh crab

 

Crab and avocado roll with lobster and crab broth 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

The crab and avocado roll

  • 1 crab, cooked
  • 1/2 avocado
  • juice from 1/4 lime
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil

Crab and lobster broth 

  • shell of 1 crab
  • shell of 1 lobster
  • 1 garlic, cut in half
  • sliced fresh ginger
  • 1 sliced unwaxed lemon
  • dill stalks
  • salt to taste

Start with the crab roll as this needs to rest. Pick the crab meat from the shell. Separate the white and the brown meat. You only need the white meat for this dish.

Mix the white meat with olive oil, the olive oil will bind the crab meat together.

Get some cling film out and brush the area you will add the avocado to with lime juice.

Slice the avocado thinly and place on the cling film. Add white crab meat and shape it gently with your hands.

 

avocado and crab meat

 

Roll the cling film and place the roll in the fridge to set for about half an hour.

 

Start with the broth. Place all of the ingredients in a pan and cover with water.

 

02April_Cran&LobsterBroth

 

Bring to a boil and let simmer until about half of the liquid remains. Taste with salt. I didn’t add anything else and the flavours of fresh seafood really came through.

 

Avocado mousse 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 3 small or 2 large ripe avocados
  • 4 tbsp hot sauce (I like it a bit hot but use as much as you prefer)
  • 2 tbsp light creme fraiche
  • juice of 1/2 lime

Peel the avocados and remove the stone. Place it in a blender with the hot sauce and the creme fraiche, lime juice and blend until smooth and you get some air in.

 

Cut a slice of endive and place at the bottom of a bowl. Cut the chilled avocado and crab roll and place it on top of the endive. Add the broth, not too much, just enough to cover the endive. Add a slice of lobster meat, avocado mousse and some salted cucumber. Garnish with some roe and serve.

 

crab and avocado roll in crab and lobster broth

 

crab and avocado roll

 

 

It was a very light dish but it was full of interesting flavours. I might have to do this again and see if I can find some volunteers to try it on!

 

I liked it so much I wanted to bring this to Angie’s always brilliant Fiesta Friday. I missed it last week and I have to admit the week wasn’t the same! This time she has two lovely and brilliant co hosts, Sonal @ simplyvegetarian777 and Laurie @ ten.times.tea. They both inspire and have recipes to swoon over!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Crab and avocado roll in lobster and crab broth”
  1. Oh my lord! That crab avocado roll sounds fantastic! I probably can eat it just like that! You always come up with fabulous recipes. 5 star, Petra! 😋😋

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie

      thank you so much! I am glad you like it! I might try and add a little garlic to the crab mix next time,not sure. 🙂 xx

  2. Another work of art Petra! It looks so light and flavorful.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you so much! It was very light. After much deliberation I served a little quinoa on the side to “bulk” it up a bit and that worked quite well 🙂 I hope you have a great week!

  3. Petra
    This is such a gourmet dish! I have mer come across something like this in cooking technique either. Fabulous!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sonal
      Thank you so much! I will make a vegetarian version for you! 🙂 I hope you are having a good week!

  4. Nadia says:

    This sounds and looks awesome.

  5. This looks fantastic! Love the effort you put into each of your dishes Petra!

  6. Oh wow. This looks absolutely fabulous, such great plating and I love all those different elements in the dish. Bet it tasted amazing?!

  7. Loretta says:

    Just gorgeous Petra, I love how all your dishes look so light and airy. I could eat seafood every single day of the week 🙂

  8. petra08 says:

    hi Jack
    Glad you like it and thank you for the mention 🙂

  9. petra08 says:

    hi Jack
    I hope you are well! Thank you for the feature, I am so honoured! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This recipe from Petra at Food Eat Love is in here just because I believe my lovely friend in Orange ounty would like crab and avocado roll in lobster and crab broth. […]

  2. […] Crab and avocado roll in lobster and crab broth.  This is a versatile and great looking dish from Petra at Food Eat Love, you could have this as a starter at a dinner party, or as a midweek dinner, or you could just make the crab and avocado roll and take that to work for lunch.  The most time consuming part of this dish is the broth, because you can’t hurry a good broth.  Magic. […]



Leave a Reply

