Vegetables with coriander and hazelnut pesto

Vegetables with coriander and hazelnut pesto

I don’t cook enough vegetarian dishes so today I thought I would give it a go. To get inspired I went to the green grocer and bought all of the vegetables that inspired me. I did think about a vegetable curry but wanted to make something I had never done before. I ended up with a mix of vegetables and thought I would think of something once home.

 

I got a portobello mushroom, radishes, sprouting broccoli, a chilli, bok choy and a small aubergine.

23April_Veg

 

Happy with my veggie bounty I needed something to pull it all together and got a bunch of coriander as well. I didn’t like coriander at all for as long as I can remember but one day it just made sense and ever since I add it to most foods where it fits in generous amounts.

The green grocer sometimes has gems tucked away in the back and this time I found curry leaves so I got some of those as well. I read a recipe on Indu’s blog Indu’s International Kitchen. It is  loaded with beautiful and inspiring dishes and I loved the use of the curry leaves for this curry.

 

Once home I spread out the vegetables and decided how to cook them.

 

I roasted the portobello mushroom and the aubergine in the oven with a little olive oil and a sprinkle of salt.

I steamed the boy choy and some sprouting broccoli and sliced some raw radishes. I thought a pesto would be nice and decided to make a hazelnut and coriander pesto.#

 

Hazelnut and coriander pesto

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • 1 big bunch of coriander
  • 3 spring onions/scallions
  • a handful of toasted hazelnuts
  • 1 clove of garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp sunsflower seeds
  • Extra virgin olive oil to bind the pesto together and to cover, about 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup

Roughly chop the coriander and the spring onions. Place all of the ingredients in the blender and blend until all ingredients come together but there is still some texture left. Taste and add a pinch of salt if necessary. Place the pesto in ajar and cover with extra virgin olive oil.

If there is any pesto left it is great simply mixed with pasta.

 

I placed a little olive oil in a hot pan with mustard seeds, ginger cut in to thin sticks and the curry  leaves. Cook for a few minutes until the mustard seeds are popping and the curry leaves are crispy.

 

curry leaves ginger and mustard seeds in oil

 

I got some cottage cheese out and plated up. Add the pesto and last spoon the oil with the curry leaves, ginger and mustard seeds.

 

bok choy with hazelnut and coriander pesto

 

crispy curry leaves

 

Vegetables with coriander and hazelnut pesto

 

The curry leaves and the mustard seeds added a nice crispy texture as well as flavour. The dish was very filling and as always I did think I should cook more vegetarian dishes. The dish would work without the cottage cheese, perhaps replaced by tofu if you would prefer a vegan dish.

I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday, hosted by the lovely Angie and this week she has two great co hosts, Mollie, The Frugal Housefrau and Scarlett, the Unwed Housewife.

Come and join us for another great foodie party! Happy weekend!

 

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “Vegetables with coriander and hazelnut pesto”
  1. I am in love with this Petra❤️

  2. Petra this looks absolutely beautiful!! I’m trying to get my husband to eat more vegetarian meals too and love coming up with new ways to cook vegetables. I love coriander, so that pesto is right up my alley too! I must give it a try soon!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Dini
      I have to admit I did this when it was only me at home! vegetarian is not the favourite here either but very tasty and I didn’t miss meat or fish at all. Pesto is always a a treat isn’t it 🙂

  3. Love that pesto! It all looks lovely, very tasty 🙂

  4. I love everything about this dish. I’ve fallen in love with hazelnuts the last couple of years and putting them into a pesto sounds divine. I’m not a vegetarian but I crave veggies much more than I do meat and eat that way when my carnivore isn’t home. Thank you for sharing Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      am so glad you like it! Like you I love meat and fish but sometimes I crave a vegetarian meal, I find it lighter for the body and a pesto adds a ton of flavour and the carnivore wasn’t home! 🙂

  5. Caroline says:

    You always have such pretty dishes and this is another. That pesto sounds delicious as well.

  6. Petra, lovely veggies – you’ve done them justice~ Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday!

    Mollie

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mollie
      Thank you and I know a late response but thank you for co hosting the lovely Fiesta Friday!

  7. Indu says:

    Wow! Very impressive dish you created here Petra.Love the coriander walnut pesto. And the oil garnish with curry leaves was brilliant! I am so glad you found fresh curry leaves! 🙂

  8. I am crazy about pesto. Thanks for sharing this at Fiesta Friday #117!

  9. Sumith Babu says:

    Your presentations are amazing!!

Leave a Reply

