Rhubarb tarte tatin with fat free yoghurt ice cream

rhubarb tarte tatin with fat free yoghurt icecream

Things are very slow at the allotment at this time of the year but the first forced rhubarb has started to come through and I wanted to try something new. I did a beetroot tarte tatin a few weeks ago but I know it originally is a dessert and I thought rhubarb would be interesting.

A tarte tatin is quite calorific with lovely butter and sugar so I thought I would make a fat free ice cream to go with it. I did buy ready made puff pastry, a bit of cheating I know but oh so convenient.

 

Rhubarb tarte tatin

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes 

oven 180C or 356 F

serves 6 

Ingredients

  • 6 good rhubarb stalks, chopped
  • 1 dl sugar, I used demerara, raw cane sugar
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • puff pastry

Start by melting the butter in a cast iron pan. Add the sugar and the lemon juice and bring to a boil. Don’t stir just gently swirl the pan and let the sugar caramelise until dark brown but not burnt.

 

melting sugar

 

When the sugar is browned add the rhubarb and let cook until the rhubarb starts to soften.

 

rhubarb in melted sugar

 

Cover with a lid of pastry and cut an opening in the middle. Bake until the pastry is cooked through and golden. Let cool on the side before cutting along the edges and turning the tarte tatin over.

 

rhubarb tarte tatin

 

I made the ice cream whilst the tarte tatin was in the oven.

 

Fat free vanilla ice cream 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20-25 minutes churning time 

serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • 3 dl or 1 1/2 cup of fat free yoghurt
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup condensed milk
  • 1 vanilla pod

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl. Scrape the seeds from the vanilla pod and add. If you want it sweeter add more condensed milk, there is no need for any sweetener.

Pour the mixture in to the ice cream machine and churn until just set. I like my ice cream a little on the loose side.

 

The ice cream was ready just as the tarte tatin had cooled enough to turn over. It wasn’t a looker but it tasted so nice  I wanted to share it.

 

rhubarb tarte tatin with fat free yoghurt icecream

 

Who doesn’t fancy a tarte tatin every now and then? The ice cream worked worked really well, it had a fresh tang from the yoghurt, sweetness from the condensed milk and vanilla running through it. There was no excuse not to reach for a second helping.

 

It actually tasted so nice I am bringing it to Angie’s Fiesta Friday. Co hosted with the lovely Loretta, Safari of the Mind and Linda, Fabulous Fare Sisters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Rhubarb tarte tatin with fat free yoghurt ice cream”
  1. heenie says:

    love it!so different and so tempting.

  2. Loretta says:

    Definitely something to try in the summer time Petra. The fat free yogurt ice cream caught my eye, thanks for bringing it to the Fiesta 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! The ice cream would have been firmer had I churned it for longer but I couldn’t wait! 🙂 Have a great week!

  3. tentimestea says:

    What beautiful red rhubarb! No forced rhubarb here, but the outside rhubarb is growing very fast–so far I’ve only made cakes, but a tart should be next! I love tarte tatin, all the caramelized sweetness must work nicely with the tart rhubarb. The fat free ice cream looks so creamy, oh my 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      thank you! I actually loved the ice cream even more than the tarte tatin but they worked really well together. Like you I love the caramelized sweetness! 🙂

  4. emmaorussell says:

    I would never have thought to try Rhubarb with Tarte Tatin! Great recipe – thanks for sharing!

    Emma @ http://www.cookingwithemmarussell.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

