Smoked Cod and Cockel salad

smoked cod and cockel salad starter

I went shopping last week! Nothing amazing about it, I don’t shop as much as I used to but this time I bought cup cake stands.

I have no intentions of making cup cakes, or bake any time soon I have to admit, but I thought they would be perfect for smoking food using my smoke gun. With this in mind I bought six and the first thing I did was to make a smoked seafood salad.

 

I went to the fishmonger and he had a piece of cod that looked good for smoking and then I couldn’t resist a handful of cockels, a small relative of clams.

 

Smoked cod and cockel salad

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 20 minutes

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 400 gr or 14 oz fillet of cod
  • a small handful of cockels
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 8 asparagus stalks, 4 cooked and 4 raw
  • 4 tsp whipped feta
  • crispy chorizo
  • 1 twig of rosemary
  • 4 fresh bayleaves or 1 dried
  • a pan full of salted, boiling water, it should be as salty as the sea

Add the rosemary and bay leaves for the water.

Bone the cod and cut it in 4 pieces. Tie it up in preparation for poaching.

 

cod

 

Rinse the cockels. Turn the heat off the water and add the cod and cockels. Put a lid on and let stand for 20 minutes.

 

Pickled cockels

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1 sliced clove of garlic
  • 1 handful of poached cockels

Drain the cooked cockels on household tissue and place them in the mixed vinegar and garlic for about 20 minutes.

 

garlic pickled cockels

 

Pan fry chorizo crispy and place on the cake stand start the smoking gun. Add the smoke under the dome and let stand for a couple of minutes for the smoky flavours to take and serve.

 

smoked seafood salad

 

smoked seafood salad with cod and cockels

 

smoked cod and cockel salad starter

 

The cake stands worked perfectly for smoking and it was a nice and fresh seafood salad with a hint of smoke. I am already thinking of what to smoke next.

 

We liked it so much I decided to bring some to Angie’s Fiesta Friday, a sharing, caring, fun and food filled party, just my kind!

This week she has two lovely co hosts, Mollie, The Frugal Housefrau and Aruna, Aharam. Mollie has brought a smoky jalapeno and bacon dip, have a look, I want some now! Aruna brought, for me, exotic sounding Mango Sheera, it sounds delisious!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Smoked Cod and Cockel salad”
  1. I’ve seen this technique before on t.v. but have never done it. This sounds just delicious Petra!

  2. Those stands are like the fanciest little smokers, ever! How wonderful!

    Happy FF, Petra!

  3. hocuspocus13 says:

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🔸xoxo

Leave a Reply

