Summer mozzarella and salami salad

mozzarella and salami salad

I love vegetables but salads taste even better when it is summer. The garden and the allotment are starting to produce herbs and edible flowers and I can’t get enough. It was time for lunch and what is more summery than a salad?

It was finally a warm sunny day and time to eat in the garden. We had a lovely, lazy Saturday so it was great as it doesn’t require a lot of cooking. I was so lazy I decided to cook what I had at home and it turned out ok.

 

I had a punnet of cherry tomatoes, they looked ok in the shop but lacked in flavour. I roasted them in the oven to give them more flavour. I cut them in half and added olive oil, salt, pepper and lemon thyme and roasted them in an 180C or 360F oven for about 30 minutes.

 

Summer mozzarella and salami salad 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • a handful of lettuce
  • 1 large sprig of dill
  • basil leaves
  • about 10 slices of salami
  • 1 ball of fresh ,mozarella, sliced
  • 1 peeled and sliced avocado
  • a handful of roasted cherry tomatoes
  • edible flowers
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • a pinch of seasalt

Plate up the salad, sprinkle with the sea salt and serve. The dill adds a lot of flavour and goes well with the basil and the rest of the salad.

 

04June_salad2

 

mozzarella and salami salad

 

Was this worth a blog? Well, a salad is always a salad but I liked it so much I wanted to share it! What is your favourite summer salad?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Summer mozzarella and salami salad”
  1. What an abosolutley gorgeous salad!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sarah
      I love summer and salads! And now I have an edible flower garden and can;t stop using it 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

