One chicken – six ways

Chicken lollipop

I haven’t really had the time or the energy to cook a lot lately but I woke up last weekend and decided that I wanted to cook chicken. It is rugby test series time so M would be well busy and not be too bothered by my lack of presence so it was a good day to get stuck in.

 

There is a stall at the market that sells the best chicken and I had a plan. I bought a whole chicken and decided to cut it myself to get all the parts I wanted.

I separated the chicken wings, I boned the thigh meat and cut out the breast fillets.

 

Chicken parts

 

I saved the skin and the carcass and I started with the chicken broth.

 

Roast chicken broth

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 1 1/2 hr + 3 hours of simmering and then reducing 

oven 170C or 340F

serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • Bones from 1 chicken
  • 2 sticks of celery
  • 1 onion, peeled and quartered
  • 1 garlic, cut in half
  • lemon thyme
  • 6 fresh bay leaves
  • salt to taste

Place the chicken bones on a tray and roast in the oven until it starts to smell of homely chicken and the bones have a golden colour.

Once this is done place the roasted chicken bones in cold water with the garlic, lemon thyme, onion and celery. Bring to a boil and let simmer for at least 3 hours. The broth will change flavour and the the chicken will come through. I wanted a mild, very chicken broth so when I was happy with the flavour I put the broth through a sieve and then reduced it until 1/3 remained. This broth had a very concentrated chicken flavour, sort of like chicken on a spoon.

 

Miso marinated chicken

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 2 hr marinating time + 20 minutes cooking time 

oven 245C or 470F

serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • 2 breasts of chicken, boned
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup miso paste
  • /2 dl or 1/4 cup low fat yogurt

Mix the miso paste with the yogurt. Cut the chicken in to chunks and add them to the marinade. Leave in the fridge for 2 hours.

 

miso marinating chicken

 

Place the chicken chunks on a tray and roast until golden and cooked through.

 

miso chicken

 

The yogurt helps tenderise the chicken and the miso adds a delicious flavour.

 

Garlic marinated chicken lollipops was the next on my mind.  I love garlic and I wanted to add garlic flavour to the chicken.

 

Garlic marinated chicken lollipops

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 2 hr of marinating + a few minutes deep fat frying 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • the inner part of the chicken wing (as I had 1 chicken I only had 2 lollipops)
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup low fat yogurt
  • 1 large crushed garlic clove
  • corn starch
  • oil for deep fat frying

Crush the garlic and mix with the yogurt. Scrape the chicken meat off the top of the bone and place in the marinade.

 

yogurt and garlic marinating chicken wings

 

Wipe off the marinade excess with your fingers, leave some on and dip the chicken wing in the corn starch and fry it until golden. Let it drain and then fry it again for a few minutes to make it even crisper.

 

Chicken lollipop

 

I marinated the outer part of the chicken wing in fish sauce and dry friend them, one of my latest favourite ways of eating chicken.

 

fish sauce marinated chicken wings

 

I added salt to the remaining corn starch, dipped the chicken skin in it and placed the skins in the oil. Once crispy I grated truffle over it before serving.

 

truffle crispy chicken skin

 

I stuffed chicken thighs and cooked with the miso chicken and served it in the chicken broth.

 

Goats cheese stuffed chicken thighs

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 20 minutes 

oven 245C or 470F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 boned chicken thighs
  • 2 tbsp goats cheese, or another cheese if you prefer
  • 1 sliced spring onion
  • 1 tbsp chopped, raw broad beans

Mix the filling and stuff the chicken. Tie it up to keep the shape, salt and pepper and cook with the miso chicken in the oven.

Serve in a small bowl with the chicken stock for added chicken flavour.

 

stuffed chicken thigh

 

To go with all this I bought some local new potatoes. I had bought a local truffle at the fishmongers and I love the truffle and potato combination.

 

Roasted, truffle potatoes 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 45 minutes 

oven 180C or 356F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 9 new potatoes
  • 1 bunch of dill with stalks
  • salt
  • truffle

Scrape the potatoes and boil them until soft in salted water with the dill. The dill I believe is a nod to growing up in Sweden where we always boil new potatoes with dill.

Once cooked quickly dry the potatoes, add a little oil and salt and roast them until the skin is crispy. Grate over truffle before serving.

 

truffle roasted potatoes

 

I think I could have eaten just the potatoes but they went very well with the chicken and the miso chicken in particular.

 

It was a whole lot of chicken cooking but for some reason it was so satisfying to cook and, as always, to eat.

 

I am finally back and ready to party and am joining Angie & Co at Fiesta Friday! No weekend is the same without it! This week she has two lovely and very talented co hosts, Elaine, Foodbod and Quinn, Dad Whats for dinner.

It midsummer, and almost time to log off and head to a friends beach hut for a summer party to celebrate this and to commiserate Brexit, it might take more than a couple of drinks to get over this! Have a lovely weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
22 Responses to “One chicken – six ways”
  1. Another fabulous and beautiful dish, Petra, thank you for sharing this with everyone at this week’s Fiesta Friday xx I get the commiserating x

  2. Tony says:

    Fantastic use of the whole bird! Everything looks and sounds delish!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Tony
      I have to admit it satisfied my urge for cooking and we had a nice little chicken buffet for dinner! 🙂 I am so glad you like it!

  3. Michelle says:

    Hi Petra!
    I saw your post @ Fiesta Friday and the lollipop chicken looks delicious! I am now craving the roasted truffle potatoes!
    Thanks!
    Michelle

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      Thank you for stopping by and I am so glad you like the chicken lollipops! I think perhaps we ate the truffle potatoes first! ha ha have a lovely week 🙂

  4. All that from one chicken, amazing. Each dish is wonderful. You are so talented.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thank you so much, I haven’t really cooked for quite some time so I guess it was all there waiting to come out and a chicken was the thing! I am so glad you like it and thank you for your lovely words! Have a great week 🙂

  5. You were very busy but what fun to spend the day in the kitchen. Chicken is my favorite as it is so versatile and absorbs so many flavors. These recipes look delicious.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz
      I just had to make time for cooking, it has been so hectic lately and I finally felt like being creative! I am glad you like it. It was fun to make and great to eat! 🙂

  6. I loved every single one of these recipes Petra!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      how is your week? I am so glad you like the chicken. The miso chicken was a revelation, I loved the gentle miso flavour with the chicken:)

      • Petra I’ve never tried miso but everyone says it’s amazing. I’ve got to give it a try!

      • petra08 says:

        hi Julie,
        I am sure you will like miso. It has a unique taste of it’s own, mild but distinct and it goes well with both chicken and fish. I have never tried it with pork or beef. 🙂

  7. Love those lollipops! Great recipes using the whole bird 🙂 Definitely giving some of these a try.

  8. That’s it, I’m buying a whole chicken! Which I don’t do very often actually, only when I want to make broth or roasted chicken. But I’m inspired! Great recipes, Petra! And your knife skills are obviously and seriously off the chart! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      it is worth buying a whole chicken. We have a great butcher who comes to the market each week and for some reason his chickens are brilliant,never dry and they have a lovely flavour, from roaming around outside I was told and I almost always buy a whole chicken as left overs are great as well. I am glad you like it, I was so happy to be cooking again feeling creative at last! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] One chicken – Six ways from Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

