Cod with beetroot hummus

cod with beetroot homous

I grew up on the Swedish west coast near Gothenburg where just about all fish came through to be distributed to all of Sweden. There was always a very large variety of fish available. The saying is that  you will always know who is from Gothenburg as we only eat cod, mackerel and herring. This always made me laugh but cod is one of my absolute favourite fish, I love the white, flaky meat, cooked right it is a delicacy. Cooked wrong will give you lasting child hood memories of super dry and tasteless fish.

 

I bought a lovely cod loin and then set off to the veg shop to see what I could have with it. The beetroot season just started and I bought a bunch of fresh beetroots to go with the cod, wanting a light but filling dish.

I like beets but there is a limit to how much I can eat so I decided to serve it two ways.

The first one was easy, I love cooked, whole, thinly sliced beetroot. Somehow very thin slices brings out the lovely flavour of beetroot for me. All I need is a light drizzle of a good olive oil and a sprinkle of sea salt before serving. I sliced one of the beetroots and decided to make beetroot hummus with the rest.

 

Beetroot hummus

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 1 hr or until soft

serves 4-6

Ingredients

  • 3 cooked beetroots
  • 1 heaped tbsp tahini
  • juice and zest of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes, or to taste

Peel the beetroots and cut them up roughly before placing them in the blender with the tahini, lemon juice and zest and the chilli flakes. Whizz until mixed, it doesn’t have to be completely smooth. Taste with salt if necessary before serving.

 

Lemon thyme poached cod

preparation time 10 minutes + 2-3 hours resting time

cooking time 20 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 500 gr or 17.6 oz cod fillet
  • a small handful of lemon thyme, or any herb of your preference
  • salt, enough to make the water taste like the sea

Remove any bones from the cod along with the skin. Cut the cod in to portion size, salt it, cover with clingfilm and place in the fridge for a few hours. This will help firm up and give the fish a great texture.

Bring water to a boil in a pan, add salt, the water should taste salty and then add the herbs. Take the boiling water off the heat, add the cod and, put the lid on and let stand for 20 minutes. Cooking fish this way will make sure it is perfect every time and it is so easy.

 

I went to the garden to pick some edible flowers and lettuce for a salad.

 

Edible flowers and herbs
11June_GardenFlowers&Herbs

 

Salad11June_BoroadbeanSalad

 

The beetroot hummus was an absolute keeper. It starts with the sweetness of the beetroot and ends on a warm chilli note with the beetroot flavour running through.

 

cod with beetroot homous

 

The beetroot was great with the cod and the salad. The whole dish was very light but still satisfying and tasted of summer.

 

I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday, Angies amazing foodie fest! If you have cooked, want to see what others are up to or if you are just looking for inspiration this is the place to come. On top of that you are joined by the nicest bloggers around!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
23 Responses to “Cod with beetroot hummus”
  1. Love that homous 😀😀

  2. This looks so creative and delicious Petra. Thanks for sharing this lovely presentation!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Zeba
      Thank you for stopping by and your lovely comment! I am glad you like it, it is full on beetroot season and I can’t stop eating it! 🙂

  3. Indu says:

    Looks wonderful! And what an artistic presentation!

  4. Anika J says:

    What a good idea! Just shared with the Greek family and they smiled 🙂

    Xo from Greece!

  5. Ahila says:

    What an aesthetically pleasing dish – so colourful and pretty! I love the addition of the edible flowers salad.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ahila
      thank you! I bought lots of seeds for edible flowers, they brighten up the dishes and adds something special 🙂

  6. chefjulianna says:

    So gorgeous on so many levels, Petra!! Have you watched “Chef’s Table” on Netflix? Your dish reminds me of something I would see on that show! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      A chefs program I have missed?! I will look it up! I am glad you like it and thank you! Have a great week! 🙂

  7. I love cod and I love beets. You nailed it! 🙂

  8. Gasp! So pretty! And love that tip on how to cook cod perfectly. I admit I always overcook it somehow despite trying hard not to 😄 That beet hummus sounds great, too!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      the cooking works a treat with salmon or prawns as well! I am so glad you like it! 🙂 xx

  9. I’ve seen beet hummus a couple times and it always looks so pretty, I must finally try it. Never thought to put it with fish, but I can see it working well, especially given the seasoning on the cod. All looks and sounds great!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      Beetroot hummus is great, you get the sweetness of the beetroot and all the flavour to start and then a little chilli kick! And yes the colour! 🙂 It is lovely with chicken as well, haven’t tried it with anything else yet! 🙂

Leave a Reply

