Torbay sole with scallop stuffed courgette flower

Scallop mousse stuffed courgette flower

The other day I saw a fish I have never seen before at the fishmonger and it was called Tobay sole. It had a pink hue and I was told it is similar in taste and texture to Dover sole. In fact I also got a funny story how the fishmonger decided to go for a posh Sunday lunch and chose Dover sole. As he sold the fish to this restaurant at the time and they hadn’t bought any Dover sole he wondered if they had another supplier. It turned out they didn’t and instead of Dover sole he got Torbay sole, similar in taste and texture but cheaper!

 

Torbay sole

 

The fishmonger was right and the Torbay sole was lovely. This year I bought lots of edible flowers and one thing I bought was zucchini flower seeds. The problem is that we also got some normal zucchini and I am now convinced that M mixed them up on purpose so that they can all bear fruit! Either way I decided to ignore his lack of signs and picked one anyway, it was just too tempting.

A mix of edible flowers and herbs

25June_Flowers&herbs

 

Every time I have seen courgette flower on a menu it has been stuffed with goats cheese and deep fried. I wanted to bake it but didn’t want cheese so I got some scallops.

 

Courgette flower stuffed with scallop mousse

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 mins

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 scallops
  • 1 tbsp egg white
  • 1 tbsp cream
  • a pinch of salt

Clean the scallops and place them in a blender and mix until smooth. Mix with the egg white, cream and the salt.Mix and keep cool in the fridge until ready to use. You need abut 1 scallop/flower.

I stuffed the courgette flower  with the scallop mousse and gently close the flower. I cut the courgette length ways.

 

Scallop mousse stuffed courgette flower

 

I placed the courgette flower in the fridge until I was ready to cook.

 

As I have never had Torbay sole before I wanted to cook it very simple so I could taste the flavour. This is also how I would cook Dover sole as it has the same kind of delicate taste.

 

Baked Torbay sole

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 12-15 minutes

oven 17oC or 340F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 whole but gutted Torbay sole/pp

Scrape the whole sole down with a knife under running water on both sides and cut of the outer skirt that is just bones. Place on a baking paper and cook for 12-15 minutes until just firm to touch. I cooked the fish with the stuffed courgette flower in the oven.

 

I did a beurre blanc to go with the fish, it is one of my favourite sauces but so naughty and rich I can;t eat it very often. I flavoured the sauce with lemon and a little fresh, grated ginger.

 

As I was cooking the weather turned from sunshine to pouring summer rain and I had to take a picture from my kitchen window.

 

25June_TableInRain

 

I boiled some potatoes and roasted them before shaving the last of the local truffle over them to go with the fish.

roasted truffle potatoes

 

Baked courgette flower

scallop stuffed courgette flower

 

Torbay sole dinner

Torbay sole with scallop stuffed courgette

 

The fishmonger was right, the Torbay sole is delicious but if I had been served that as Dover sole, unlike the fishmonger I don’t think I would ever have known and it is a very delicate fish with great flavour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
7 Responses to “Torbay sole with scallop stuffed courgette flower”
  1. andy says:

    Here, in some communities including mine, we batter- fry courgette flower. Similarly, we also fry gourd flower and pumpkin flowers. Goes well as snacks, or side dish.
    Your food and it’s presentation is always so alluring to me. ❤

  2. chefjulianna says:

    Oh, Petra! I know this was an amazing meal! Your creativity truly inspires me, and I am so envious of your courgette flowers! I am drooling over here!! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I love my courgette flowers and I just wish they would flower all summer! Am so glad you like the dish! 🙂 I hope you are having a great weekend x

  3. Torbay sole is one of our local fish here in New England, except we call it grey sole. It is a delicious fish that is sold as sole in nice restaurants here on the US East coast. Technically it is not a sole, it is actually a witch flounder, but as you noticed, tastes like sole. I’ve never had true Dover sole, I tried Pacific Dover sole last night and it was good, but not as good as grey (Torbay) sole.

    • petra08 says:

      I didn’t know that Torbay sole had more names! It is a delicious fish. Dover sole is also delicious, I actually live neat Dover but as it has a harbor I think the Dover sole they sell here is from further up the coast! It is also delicious but Torbay sole is well up there 🙂

  4. petra08 says:

    Hey Jack
    thank you for the feature and I am glad you like it! The scallop mousse was really good!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] fresh and in season.  English Girl Petra from Food Eat Love has this smashing recipe for Torbay sole with scalloped stuffed courgette flower….  Torbay is a great little harbour town on the English Riviera.  Out of the way, quiet, […]



Leave a Reply

