Pushing yourself, my first pop up restaurant!

Mens 100 London Anniversary games 2016

What? Where is the food?! Well this is about food, goals and achievements. No cooking this time but as always it evolves around food and this time a pop up restaurant!

 

I love a challenge and I firmly believe that it is good to get out of your comfort zone. Ever so often I make an effort to do things I haven’t done before and to push myself. The other week I got tickets through a friend to The Anniversary Games at the London Olympic stadium, I had a brilliant seat and it was spectacular. As I was watching I was thinking how these athletes push themselves every day to reach a goal that sometimes must seem like reaching for the sun, if they could only jump a little higher, a bit further or run a a fraction bit faster…

 

high jump, track and field

 

Where there was winners there were also some who had a bad day when all that they had worked for simply didn’t work, just like life. I believe we have all had days like this sometimes but perhaps not quite so public.

 

women's 400 m hurdle track and field

 

No doubt for some this was one of those days, but like the athlete who stumbled on the wrong day, we should all do what she did and get up, shake it off and do it again. I am sure we will see her during the Olympics and the fall will be long forgotten.

I decided to give up my corporate life, hang away my suits in dust bags in favour of a new life. I have to admit I didn’t have a plan, or perhaps I should say I have plenty of plans, so many I am not quite sure where to start.

 

As a result of a series of random events I was asked to cook for a pop up restaurant. I was given complete freedom with the menu and I knew I had t do it! Tomorrow is the day! I actually can’t wait and hope that nothing will go wrong. This is absolutely a step, or should I say leap, outside of my comfort zone.

 

I have spent a lot of time designing the menu and here is the final version. It is a three course menu at a set price and I have asked everyone to pre select as I don’t have the experience of a professional chef.

Starters:

Swedish style prawns on toast

Crispy duck salad with a hot and sour dressing

Pav Bhaji (vegetarian)

Main courses:

Chicken with butter beans, pink peppercorns and dill

Pork belly with prosecco glaze

Bulgur wheat with an Ancho dressing and paneer cheese

Desserts:

Honey baked fruit with almond flakes

Mandarin cheesecake

 

I spent most of the past two days cooking three of the dishes and preparing. They were the ones I wanted to re check for tweaks. I did some and they turned out even better than before so fingers crossed.

I am documenting everything to create a framework for, hopefully future food ventures. Once I decided to go ahead and do this I have had overwhelming support and I feel it shows that I was right in following my gut instinct and follow my passion.

 

I am hoping that everything will go smooth, I have a massive list of things to do tomorrow and if I am very lucky, I will come across looking like Usain Bolt in the Mens 200 meters, taking the number one spot, making it look so easy!

 

Mens 200 Usain Bolt

 

So no foodie images, no recipe but I wanted to share my very first foodie adventure, absolutely inspired by the amazing performance by some of the best athletes in the world.

 

This week is also special as I am co hosting Angie’s  Fiesta Friday with the talented and lovely Judi, Cooking with a Juju who is bringing a batch of freshly bakes sourdough bread, my favourite. Come and party with us!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
42 Responses to “Pushing yourself, my first pop up restaurant!”
  1. memadtwo says:

    Wonderful sounding menu, wish I could be there but I have a feeling you aren’t in he USA. N.

    • petra08 says:

      hello!
      It was a bit of a whirlwind and I wish you could have come as well but no, I am based in the UK but will keep you updated on how it went and any future foodie adventures! Thank you for your encouraging and lovely comment! 🙂

  2. Ginger says:

    It sounds amazing, Petra! Wishing you all the best for tomorrow!!!
    Ginger xx

    • petra08 says:

      hi Ginger
      Thank you! I will do a follow up blog, there has been so much going on lately! Hope all is good with you! xx

  3. chefjulianna says:

    Wow Petra! I knew you had the “chef” inside you! Congratulations to you and all the best of luck! I know it is going to be completely amazing! Be sure to take lots of photos so we can follow your progress! Congrats again! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you so much! I will make a follow up blog! It was so different from anything I have ever done before! 🙂 x

  4. Tania says:

    Hope everything goes fantastically for you!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Tania
      Thank you so much for stopping by and your words! It all went well and will do a follow up blog to share 🙂 I hope your week is good!

  5. Oh my Petra – I am truly impressed with this undertaking of yours and that menu looks out of this world. True Petra style – my fellow co-host. Can’t wait to see new posts – you are one heckuva chef 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju
      Thank you so much! I had a full house and it was a bit of a buzz I have to admit! Thank you for co hosting FF with me! A great party as always!! 🙂

  6. As today is the day, I have no doubt that you will be very busy right now – I hope everything is going smoothly and that you feel cool and in control 🙂
    Having viewed your amazing food for so long, I am sure that your guests will have a wonderful experience and that you will receive rave reviews 😀😀☺️
    I stepped out of corporate life exactly 10 years to create my own destiny, and it was the best move I ever made. Good luck superstar xxxx

    • petra08 says:

      hi Elaine
      Not sure where time goes! Thank you so much for your encouraging words! It went well and will do a blog follow up if I can make the time to sit down long enough! 🙂
      I believe everything has it’s time and am glad to hear of others stepping out of the corporate life as well and enjoying life! I haven’t been “off” for long but wonder how I had the time! Onwards to new adventures! 🙂 xxx

  7. Petra I am so excited for you and think it’s such a wonderful adventure. Looking at the menu I think your guests are in for a real treat and judging from what I see on your blog the execution will be flawless and absolutely delicious. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      thank you so much! I will do a follow up blog! All went well but the plating wasn’t quite what I would have liked to!Saying that the flavours were all there so can’t complain! Happy Wednesday! 🙂 x

  8. Congratulations Petra! This sounds so exciting. I’m sure your guests will have such a wonderful time. The food on your blog always looks so beautiful and this menu sounds divine.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Natalie
      Thank you so much! It all went ok and the menu was appreciated and I am glad I did it! 🙂 I hope you are having a great week!

  9. Petra, this is just marvelous and you are so deserving since every one of your dishes is a work of art. Congratulations and a career you can feel passionate about! I too hung up my suits in Corporate America and it was scary. Looking back I should have done it sooner.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Julie
      I love to hear about life changes and I am so glad you know you did the right thing! It is always a little scary to change but I know it is for the better! 🙂 x

  10. tentimestea says:

    I am so excited for you Petra! Each one of your posts astounds me with the seemingly effortless creativity, technique and beautiful presentation. I think you are suited perfectly to a career in food and I have no doubt that the pop up was an amazing experience. I can’t wait to hear more about it! Best of luck with everything!

  11. michelleoblogoff says:

    Petra- this is great! Your menu looks amazing! I’m sure you WOW’d the crowd!😀 Also- thanks for co- hosting!
    Michelle

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      Thank you for taking the time to stop by and your support! I will follow up with how it all went! Something different for sure 🙂

  12. Sandhya says:

    Petra! Wow! I admire you for taking on this huge endeavor and am so confident that you must have done an awesome job! Your menu looks amazing- how lucky are the people who get to eat that!

  13. Oh my gosh! I am so happy for you! What a change and that’s going to be some lucky customers. Thanks for co-hosting FF, too! I’m very excited for you and hope you’ll keep us all posted on this wonderful journey.

    Mollie

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mollie
      If all goes to plan this is a start of something different! Working with a passion isn’t quite like work so fingers crossed and of course I will keep everyone up to date on the blog! Thank you and thank you for joining Fiesta Friday, I have to admit my favourite foodie party! I just wish sometimes that we could actually all get together with our dishes, mingle and taste them all! 🙂 Have a great week x

  14. Shari says:

    This sounds like such an interesting event, Petra. I would love to hear more about it and how it works. I hope all went well for you. Your menu sounds amazing!! I wish I could have been one of your customers! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Shari
      Thank you so much! I will do a follow up blog and am already thinking of what to cook next! It would have been lovely to have you there and cook for you 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!

  15. You go, girl!! You know I’m your #1 fan and cheerleader! It just sounds so exciting and I’m so happy for you. Here comes a chain of Petra’s pop-up restaurants!! Petra’s POP UP! 😄😄

Leave a Reply

