Savoury meringue canapés

savoury meringue beef canape

For some reason I have never made my own steak sauce. This could be because I usually eat my steak with garlic butter or sauce Bearnaise but it could also be because I needed to find a truly inspiring recipe.  When I read the very Angie’s, Fiesta Friday, steak sauce recipe I knew it was a keeper! Sometimes I can read a recipe and almost taste the flavours and this is just what happened.

I made some tiny tweaks, here is the original recipe, Angie, I hope you don’t mind! I didn’t have any pear at home but I did have ripe mango that I used instead. I didn’t discard any solids so the sauce had a slightly different texture.

 

Angie’s steak sauce (slightly tweaked)

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes 

serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 dl or 1.2 cup beef stock
  • 1 mango, peeled, de seeded and cubed
  • 3 tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp minced ginger
  • 2 tsp HP sauce (I didn’t have any Worcester sauce)
  • 2 tsp mirin
  • 2 tsp toasted sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp sesame seed oil

Steak sauce ingredients

steak sauce ingredients

 

Place beef stock, mango, sugar, ginger and HP sauce in a pan and bring to a boil. Let simmer for 10 minutes. Place everything in a blender and pulse until you have a smooth sauce. It will look something like this:

steak sauce

 

Simmer for an addition 5-10 minutes or until slightly reduced and let cool.

Whilst the steak sauce was cooling, and as I was tasting it (delicious!), I thought I would try and make savoury meringues as I had friends over for drinks and canapés the following evening. I used the steak sauce before adding the remaining ingredients, mirin, sesame seed oil and sesame seeds.

 

Savoury steak sauce meringues

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time about 20-25 minutes 

oven 140C or 284F 

serves makes about 40 

Ingredients

  • 100 gr of 3.5 oz egg white
  • 60 gr or 2.11 oz sugar, I used brown sugar but any sugar works
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup steak sauce
  • juice of 1/4 lemon

Place lemon juice and egg whites in a bowl and whisk until stiff peaks form. Add the sugar, a little at the time and when that is incorporated, add the cooled steak sauce, a little at the time.

Use a piping bag and make little meringues. bake until cooked through, keep an eye on them so they don’t burn. As they are so small the last minutes will make all the difference.

Let the meringues cool on a wired rack and then keep them in an airtight jar.

 

There was still quite a lot of steak sauce left. I had now added the sesame seed oil, toasted sesame seeds and mirin. I didn’t have any steak and pork meatballs was on the menu. It was a no brainer, instead of the usual meatball spices I simply added a little salt and steak sauce, mixed and made the meatballs. To go with them I did a tomato sauce, flavoured with the steak sauce and simply served with spaghetti squash. The doesn’t look too elegant but we loved it and the steak sauce added a great flavour.

 

steak sauce meatballs with spaghetti squash

 

For my little canapé party I knew I needed to get some steak. I wanted to use the amazing steak sauce with actual steak. I got a small piece of bavette from the butcher. I cooked it beforehand to let it cool before serving.

 

Bavette steakbavette steak

 

I added salt and pepper and pan fried it in oil, 4 minutes on each side and then set it aside to rest until cool. It will come out cooked medium rare.

 

Steak sauce meringue and beef canapés

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 2-3 minutes to toast the bread 

serves 6-8

Ingredients

  •  thin cut and toasted bread
  • thinly sliced steak
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  •  tomato, cut in half
  • sliced cucumber
  • coriander/cilantro
  • steak sauce
  • steak sauce meringues

Rub the toasted bread with garlic and tomato.

 

pan con tomato

 

Place a cucumber slice on each piece of bread. Add a slice of beef. Add a small dollop of steak sauce and a leaf of coriander. Last place a steak sauce meringue on top. I glued it on there with some steak sauce underneath so it wouldn’t fall off and serve.

 

steak sauce meringue and beef canapes

 

savoury meringue beef canape

 

This was a canapé party so I also got some greengages, a kind of plum, and figs from the greengrocer.

 

Bacon wrapped greengage canapés

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 20-25 minutes 

oven 180C or 356F 

serves 5

Ingredients

  • 5 greengages, stoned and cut in half
  • dolcelatte cheese, about 10 tsp
  • bacon,5 pieces
  • a sprinkle of brown sugar
  • 10 toothpicks

Place the cheese on top of the halved greengages.

 

greengage and dolcelatte

 

Wrap each greengage half in bacon and secure with a toothpick. Sprinkle a little brown sugar in each one.

 

bacon wrapped greengage

 

Place in an ovenproof dish and bake until the bacon is crispy and golden.

 

bacon wrapped greengage

 

Last I cut each fig in quarters, they were quite large. I did a cut alongside the middle and stuffed it with mozzarella cheese.

 

mozzarella stuffed fig

 

I drizzled chilli balsamic vinegar over and baked them with the greengages for about 15 minutes until the mozzarella had melted.

 

mozzarella stuffed fig

 

It was a nice little selection of canapés and we enjoyed them in the last sunshine of the day in the garden with a few drinks.

 

The last of the steak sauce, I wasn’t going to throw any of it away, over an omelette, it adds a lovely flavour to everything!

 

omelette

 

Thank you Angie for sharing your recipe, it was all I expected and more! In fact the canapes were so good I am bringing some to Fiesta Friday to share. This is a recipe to be shared and cooked and cooked again! This week she has two brilliant co hosts, Nancy, Feasting with Friends and Sandhya, Indfused.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
5 Responses to “Savoury meringue canapés”
  1. Sandhya says:

    Petra,
    Your creativity is simply mind blowing! What an array of spectacular dishes! From the Mango steak sauce to the figs stuffed with mozzarella and drizzled with chili balsamic vinegar to the omelette, I have been drooling ….you kept me riveted to the post. You brought the party to Fiesta Friday! Thanks for sharing the canapes with us.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sandhya
      Thank you so much! I fund Angies recipe so inspiring I just had to make it! I was very pleased with the meringues, I wasn’t sure at all if they would work out!
      Happy FF!! 🙂 x

  2. Nancy says:

    I LOVE your spin on Angie’s recipe, Petra! These canapés are so unique…something one might find on the menu of a fine dining steakhouse. The flavors sound mouth watering good. I love absolutely everything about them, Well done!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nancy
      Thank you so much! I am glad you like it. I was super inspired by Angie’s recipe and it is so great with steak! 🙂 I hope you are having a great week!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Savory Meringue Canapes from Petra @Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

